Last 2017 Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit Little Rock City Hall

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, November 17, 2017

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Little Rock City Hall at 500 West Markham Street at Little Rock beginning at noon on Friday, December 1.

Little Rock City Hall was designed by noted architect Charles L. Thompson and has been the seat of government for the capital city since 1908. Little Rock City Hall was listed in the National Register on October 18, 1979.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Bogg Springs Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas History Buffalo National River Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Rosenwald Schools Perry County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District free history tours Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Elias Camp Morris Dionicio Rodriguez Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Let Freedom Ring Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building African American education Arkansas Railroad History Burdette Plantation Miller County National Historic Landmark Civil Works Administration Walks Through History Three States Lumber Company Barney Elias House International-Style Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Texarkana Abolition of Slavery Montgomery County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Arkansas free teacher resources Little Rock Central High School steel window restoration workshop Kiblah School Main Street Ozark Arkansas Historic Preservation Wingmead National Register of Historic Fayetteville Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Folk Victorian Architecture slipcover removal grants Huntsville Arkansas Duck Hunting Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Renaissance Revival Architecture Rustic Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Bogg Springs Hotel U.S. Forest Service Main Street Searcy Turner Restoration North Little Rock Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Erbie Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Freedom Park historic telephone booth Prairie County Arkansas most endangered historic places Main Street Siloam Springs Mississippi County Arkansas cemetery preservation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Paris Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden to Washington Road Conway County Library Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic architecture Phillips County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Freedmen's Bureau Nevada County Arkansas Camden Public Library Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Civilian Conservation Corps Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Register of Historic Places Free Lesson Plan Morrilton Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas downtown economic development Mid-Century Modern Architecture Houston Arkansas Pope County Arkansas American Legion Free Courthouse Poster Saline County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Dumas Russellville Arkansas Benton Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas State University Heritage Sites St. Francis County Historical Society Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Delta Cultural Center 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Sunken Lands Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Tudor Revival Architecture free historic preservation workshop Helena Arkansas cemetery preservsation News Release Arkansas religious history Roe Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Cumberland Presbyterian Church Booneville Arkansas Tolbert Gill historic resort communities Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Places Flood Control Poinsett County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown revitalization Arkansas Humanities Council County courthouse Restoration Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Forrest City Cemetery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Rosston Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Ozark Farming White County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Skillern House Main Street Batesville Sandwiching in History Craftsman style architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Louisiana Main Street program Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Business History Real Estate Transfer Tax historic Arkansas properties Monroe County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission