Leslie Commercial District Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, July 20, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Leslie Commercial Historic District at Leslie in Searcy County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Leslie Commercial Historic District, which encompasses buildings at 319-424 Main and 205 Oak streets, features buildings dating to 1905.

“Centered along Main Street and inclusive of the early and mid-twentieth century commercial buildings, the district includes a collection of buildings representing a significant and distinguishable entity,” according to the National Register nomination. “The buildings fronting Main Street and the adjacent side streets were erected in the preferred popular Twentieth Century Standard Commercial style, and largely retain their architectural integrity.”

While listing on the National Register offers no inherent protections to historic properties, it can make some properties eligible for historic preservation tax credits or grants. Visit to learn more.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Dr. Ruth Hawkins Tudor Revival Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Destination Downtown Conference Henry Koen Office Building Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District International-Style Architecture Craftsman style architecture Historic County Courthouses Naturalistic Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Forrest City Arkansas Houston Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Wingmead Ouachita County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Skillern House Booneville Arkansas cemetery preservsation Camden to Washington Road White County Courthouse Flood Control Camden Public Library Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Railroad History Buffalo National River Huntsville Arkansas Walks Through History Main Street Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Business History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedom Park Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas History Trail of Tears in Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Newton County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery News Release Main Street Searcy Perry County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Paris Arkansas Arkansas religious history Mississippi County Arkansas National Register of Historic Prairie County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Clarendon Arkansas downtown revitalization Main Street Dumas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Design Network U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Turner Restoration Art Deco Architecture free history tours Sunken Lands Ozark Farming Bogg Springs Arkansas historic architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Kiblah School Madison County Arkansas 13th Amendment free historic preservation workshop Duck Hunting Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola historic resort communities Pike County Arkansas cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Rosenwald Schools Freedmen's Bureau Rosston Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Free Lesson Plan African American education historic telephone booth Fayetteville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny American Legion U.S. Forest Service Delta Cultural Center Pope County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Sandwiching in History historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum New Century Club of Camden Folk Victorian Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Centennial Baptist Church Roe Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Register of Historic Places Main Street Texarkana Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Helena Arkansas Little Rock Central High School most endangered historic places Pulaski County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Tolbert Gill Main Street Batesville free teacher resources Arkansas Historic Preservation Dionicio Rodriguez Monroe County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Mid-Century Modern Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Benton Arkansas downtown economic development Louisiana Main Street program Let Freedom Ring Barney Elias House Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Civilian Conservation Corps Free Courthouse Poster Russellville Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Humanities Council Miller County Booneville Historical Preservation Society Mississippi Main Street Association Pike County Courthouse Bogg Springs Hotel 19th Century Road Construction slipcover removal grants Main Street Ozark Forrest City Cemetery Conway County Library Main Street Siloam Springs Saline County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Downtown Revitalization Grants Elias Camp Morris North Little Rock Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Civil Works Administration Little Rock Fire Station No. 2