“Let Freedom Ring” Travel Grants Available

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, February 02, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission, in cooperation with the Arkansas Humanities Council and the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, is offering “Let Freedom Ring” Travel Grants to help Arkansas students visit two museums that tell the stories of how the Civil War affected Arkansas’s African American people, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

“The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is focusing on the passage of the 13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which outlawed slavery, during 2015, the final year of the commemoration of the 150th anniversary of the Civil War,” Dupree said. “In keeping with that goal, ‘Let Freedom Ring’ Travel Grants of up to $500 will be available through the Arkansas Humanities Council to assist school groups in visiting either the ‘Freedom! Oh, Freedom!’ exhibit at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center in Little Rock or Freedom Park and the Delta Cultural Center in Helena-West Helena – both sites providing interpretation of the African American experience in Civil War Arkansas.”

Grant applications are available through the Arkansas Humanities Council, 407 President Clinton Avenue, Suite 201, Little Rock, AR 72201. Deadlines are the first of each month through November 2015. Applicants must contact the museum they choose to visit to schedule their field trip prior to applying for the grant. Admission to both museums are free.

For information regarding the “Let Freedom Ring” Travel Grants, please contact Jama Best, Senior Program Officer, Arkansas Humanities Council, 407 President Clinton Avenue, Suite 201, Little Rock, AR 72201, (501) 320-5761 or [email protected], or visit

For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit or e-mail [email protected] The Arkansas Humanities Council seeks to promote access to the humanities for everyone in Arkansas by awarding grants to nonprofit organizations so they can plan, conduct, and evaluate humanities projects for Arkansas audiences. In addition, the council provides services that complement the grant program.

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Camden Arkansas African American education Three States Lumber Company most endangered historic places Downtown Revitalization Grants National Register of Historic Folk Victorian Architecture Russellville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Huntsville Commercial Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Railroad History Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Design Network Wingmead Free Lesson Plan Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Sandwiching in History White County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Evelyn Gill Walker House Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Destination Downtown Conference Delta Cultural Center Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Montgomery County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Conway County Library Roe Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Erbie Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Helena Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Paris Arkansas National Historic Landmark Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Mosaic Templars Cultural Center American Legion Arkansas religious history Trail of Tears in Arkansas downtown economic development Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Camden to Washington Road Barney Elias House St. Francis County Historical Society Bogg Springs Hotel Pulaski County Courthouse Duck Hunting International-Style Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Edgar Monsanto Queeny historic telephone booth Doddridge Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez historic architecture Main Street Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery cemetery preservsation Main Street Searcy Arkansas Historic Preservation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants U.S. Forest Service Skillern House Ouachita County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Preservation Awards historic resort communities Madison County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Cemetery Preservation Library Pike County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Kiblah School 13th Amendment Let Freedom Ring Henry Koen Office Building Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Miller County Craftsman style architecture Booneville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free historic preservation workshop Buffalo National River Poinsett County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Booneville Historical Preservation Society downtown revitalization Main Street Ozark Civilian Conservation Corps North Little Rock Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Centennial Baptist Church Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Morrilton Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Tolbert Gill New Century Club of Camden Main Street Batesville News Release free teacher resources Civil Works Administration Main Street Texarkana Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Monroe County Arkansas Flood Control Saline County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas History Rosenwald Schools Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 County courthouse Restoration Grants National Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Louisiana Main Street program Perry County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Alliance Prairie County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservation Rosston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Pope County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Abolition of Slavery Forrest City Cemetery Turner Restoration Benton Arkansas free history tours Elias Camp Morris Camden Public Library Freedom Park Rustic Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Dumas Forrest City Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Ozark Farming Burdette Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Sunken Lands