Little Rock Housing Towers Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 27, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Three Little Rock public housing towers have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The three newly listed properties, which all were built to serve as public housing for senior citizens, are:

* Cumberland Towers at 211 East Eighth Street, an 11-story International Style residential tower built in 1974

* Fred W. Parris Towers at 1800 South Broadway, a 14-story International Style residential tower constructed in 1972

* Jesse Powell Towers at 1010 Wolfe Street, a nine-story International Style residential tower erected in 1975.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Booneville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown revitalization Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pope County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Huntsville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Ozark Farming Saline County Arkansas Sandwiching in History 13th Amendment National Register of Historic most endangered historic places Freedom Park Montgomery County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Pike County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Bogg Springs Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Leake-Ingham Building Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Elias Camp Morris Gothic Revival architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Cemetery Preservation Library slipcover removal grants African American education 19th Century Road Construction Freedmen's Bureau Destination Downtown Conference Conway County Library Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Louisiana Main Street program Turner Restoration Kiblah School Arkansas religious history Arkansas History Newton County Arkansas historic telephone booth Duck Hunting Arkansas Railroad History Centennial Baptist Church Burdette Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Erbie Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Buffalo National River Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Pike County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Main Street Siloam Springs Mississippi Main Street Association Burdette Plantation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Texarkana Sunken Lands Perry County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Batesville Main Street Searcy Skillern House Historic County Courthouses Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Paris Arkansas Civil Works Administration Nevada County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Mid-Century Modern Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Dionicio Rodriguez New Century Club of Camden free history tours Main Street Dumas historic architecture historic Arkansas properties Camden Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Alliance steel window restoration workshop Huntsville Commercial Historic District International-Style Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Flood Control Dr. Ruth Hawkins Phillips County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic resort communities Mosaic Templars Cultural Center North Little Rock Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Barney Elias House Benton Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Walks Through History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax White County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Fayetteville Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Art Deco Architecture Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers free teacher resources Downtown Revitalization Grants Camden Public Library Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Madison County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas State University Heritage Sites News Release Wingmead Tolbert Gill Abolition of Slavery Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Monroe County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Houston Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Henry Koen Office Building free historic preservation workshop Free Lesson Plan County courthouse Restoration Grants cemetery preservation Poinsett County Arkansas Miller County Main Street Ozark American Legion Evelyn Gill Walker House St. Francis County Historical Society Rustic Architecture Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Business History Trail of Tears in Arkansas downtown economic development Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery