Main Street Arkansas investments top $15 million

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, January 27, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Main Street Arkansas cities recorded $15,398,746 in investments in downtown projects in 2016, Main Street Arkansas Director Greg Phillips announced today. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

“Investments in the historic commercial cores of our Main Street Arkansas towns show a renewed commitment to historic preservation around the state,” Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst noted. “Not only do these projects restore some of our finest historic buildings, they also help create jobs in small towns all over Arkansas.”

Main Street Arkansas cities in 2016 noted 126 façade renovations, building rehabilitations and new downtown construction projects, reflecting investments of $15,398,746. The cities documented a net gain of 34 businesses and 40 business expansions and relocations into downtown areas, creating a net gain of 195 jobs. In addition, there were 33 public improvement projects generated in Main Street Arkansas cities, reflecting $17,737,601 invested in the historic commercial areas. Main Street cities also recorded 13,346 volunteer hours invested in downtown.

Since its inception in 1984, Main Street Arkansas cities have yielded a net gain of 6,413 jobs, a net gain of 1,291 new businesses and 1,194 business expansions and relocations into downtown. A total of $172,156,514 in investment has financed 2,311 façade renovations, rehabilitations and new construction projects. The Main Street cities have seen 958 public improvement projects valued at $42,697,918 and 605,655 volunteer hours on Main Street matters.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Hardy, Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Newport and Paris. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pike County Arkansas Miller County Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans downtown revitalization Historic Preservation Alliance International-Style Architecture Roe Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau downtown economic development Pike County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places U.S. Forest Service News Release Free Lesson Plan Skillern House National Register of Historic Madison County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Sunken Lands Bogg Springs Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Turner Restoration Camden Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Phillips County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Searcy Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Paris Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Flood Control Morrilton Arkansas Barney Elias House Ouachita County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Freedom Park Pope County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Delta Cultural Center Main Street Dumas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Prairie County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Craftsman style architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District Elias Camp Morris Arkansas History Russellville Arkansas Buffalo National River Huntsville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Bogg Springs Hotel Ozark Farming Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Art Deco Architecture free teacher resources Main Street Texarkana Abolition of Slavery historic resort communities Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas African American Civil War History Naturalistic Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Tudor Revival Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Henry Koen Office Building Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot cemetery preservsation Free Courthouse Poster Cemetery Preservation Library historic telephone booth Mid-Century Modern Architecture Little Rock Central High School Arkansas religious history Camden to Washington Road historic Arkansas properties Walks Through History Wingmead Civilian Conservation Corps Poinsett County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Pope County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Monsanto Chemical Corporation Historic County Courthouses Gothic Revival architecture African American education slipcover removal grants Burdette Plantation Evelyn Gill Walker House Central High School Neighborhood Historic District most endangered historic places American Legion Main Street Batesville Doddridge Arkansas Kiblah School Louisiana Main Street program 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation cemetery preservation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Forrest City Cemetery Civil Works Administration Booneville Historical Preservation Society National Historic Landmark White County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Main Street Ozark Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Monroe County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop Conway County Library Erbie Arkansas historic architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Arkansas Business History Booneville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Folk Victorian Architecture free history tours Pulaski County Courthouse Duck Hunting Burdette Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Design Network Camden Public Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Benton Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Cumberland Presbyterian Church Clarendon Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Saline County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Rosenwald Schools