Main Street Arkansas Program Set for Heber Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, September 14, 2017

Mark Miller, Main Street Arkansas small business consultant, will present “Homegrown Success” beginning at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 21, at Arrow’s Café at 9 Pangburn Road in Heber Springs. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Miller’s presentation will include information on what attracts people to shop independent stores instead of at “big box” retailers, building a loyal customer base and keeping momentum during slow periods. For additional information about the free workshop, contact Amy Baeder at (206) 351-0205.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Paris, Newport and Hardy. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Art Deco Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Civilian Conservation Corps historic resort communities Saline County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance National Historic Landmark historic Arkansas properties Arkansas African American Civil War History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Pike County Courthouse Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 19th Century Road Construction Turner Restoration Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Burdette Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Camden Public Library free historic preservation workshop Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut White County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Real Estate Transfer Tax free history tours Marked Tree Lock and Siphons most endangered historic places National Register of Historic 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation New Century Club of Camden Destination Downtown Conference African American education Cemetery Preservation Library Monroe County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Tudor Revival Architecture Kiblah School Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Bogg Springs Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Russellville Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Miller County Arkansas Preservation Awards Sunken Lands historic telephone booth Dr. Ruth Hawkins Doddridge Arkansas downtown economic development Perry County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas American Legion Clarendon Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Hotel Freedom Park Montgomery County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Edgar Monsanto Queeny Three States Lumber Company Skillern House Arkansas History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment International-Style Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Downtown Revitalization Grants Pike County Arkansas Sandwiching in History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Searcy Main Street Ozark Pulaski County Courthouse Rustic Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Abolition of Slavery free teacher resources Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Paris Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Duck Hunting cemetery preservation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Conway County Library Ouachita County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Civil Works Administration Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Siloam Springs Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Mid-Century Modern Architecture Houston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Arkansas religious history Madison County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Booneville Historical Preservation Society Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Craftsman style architecture Buffalo National River "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants historic architecture Henry Koen Office Building Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Morrilton Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedmen's Bureau Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Fayetteville Arkansas Tolbert Gill North Little Rock Arkansas cemetery preservsation St. Francis County Historical Society Flood Control Helena Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Main Street Batesville Poinsett County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Rosenwald Schools Centennial Baptist Church Forrest City Cemetery Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Roe Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Ozark Farming Pope County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Erbie Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Business History News Release Booneville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Wingmead U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Humanities Council Walks Through History Main Street Texarkana Barney Elias House Arkansas Design Network National Register of Historic Places Benton Arkansas Camden to Washington Road downtown revitalization Arkansas Railroad History