Main Street Arkansas Program Set for Hope

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Greg Phillips, Main Street Arkansas director, will make a presentation on the Main Street Arkansas approach to downtown revitalization at 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 9, at the Bancorp South second-floor Graves Conference Room at 200 South Elm Street in Hope. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Phillips will speak on the Main Street approach to downtown revitalization and how it has helped renew the historic commercial areas of towns across the state. The presentation is open to the public. For more information on the program, call him at (501) 324-9880, send him an e-mail at [email protected] or call Beckie Moore at (870) 777-3640.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Hardy, Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Newport and Paris. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Burdette Plantation Arkansas Railroad History Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Register of Historic Places Let Freedom Ring Paris Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas History Newton County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society downtown revitalization National Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau Nevada County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Houston Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Folk Victorian Architecture African American education Pope County Courthouse Barney Elias House News Release Downtown Revitalization Grants Sandwiching in History Perry County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Civil Works Administration Rosenwald Schools Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas religious history Arkansas History Lesson Plans Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pulaski County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Mississippi Main Street Association Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Madison County Arkansas Wingmead Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Camden to Washington Road 13th Amendment Roe Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Walks Through History Free Courthouse Poster Henry Koen Office Building Pike County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Duck Hunting American Legion St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Russellville Arkansas Skillern House Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Camden Arkansas Turner Restoration slipcover removal grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Burdette Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House National Register of Historic Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Centennial Baptist Church Freedom Park most endangered historic places 19th Century Road Construction Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Huntsville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Bogg Springs Hotel Historic Preservation Restoration Grants National Historic Landmark steel window restoration workshop Benton Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program downtown economic development Arkansas African American Civil War History Naturalistic Architecture cemetery preservation New Century Club of Camden Sunken Lands Ozark Farming Forrest City Cemetery Camden Public Library Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Business History Clarendon Arkansas Miller County Real Estate Transfer Tax Monroe County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture historic architecture Arkansas Design Network Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Ozark County courthouse Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Fayetteville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Three States Lumber Company Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Little Rock Central High School free teacher resources Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Gothic Revival architecture historic Arkansas properties Delta Cultural Center Destination Downtown Conference Monroe County Courthouse Conway County Library Polk County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Ouachita County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas free history tours Rustic Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Edgar Monsanto Queeny Elias Camp Morris Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Buffalo National River Montgomery County Courthouse Trail of Tears in Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps White County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Flood Control Pike County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Forest Service Cumberland Presbyterian Church Huntsville Commercial Historic District Evelyn Gill Walker House Booneville Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Kiblah School Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Searcy Main Street Siloam Springs Monsanto Chemical Corporation Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council International-Style Architecture Erbie Arkansas historic resort communities