Main Street Arkansas Sponsors Three Business Workshops

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, April 28, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—Main Street Arkansas will sponsor free business recruitment and retention workshops in Jonesboro, Russellville and Batesville in May, Main Street Arkansas Director Greg Phillips announced today. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Hillary Greenberg, president of Greenberg Development Services of Charlotte, N.C., will lead the free workshops titled “Filling Vacancies and Strengthening Businesses: Tips for Building a Strong Business Retention and Recruitment Program.” The workshops will be held:

* Tuesday, May 5, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., Downtown Jonesboro Association Office, 407 Union Street, Jonesboro; contact Hailey Knight, (870) 919-6176 or [email protected]

* Wednesday, May 6, 11:30 to 1 p.m., first-floor conference room at Russellville City Hall, 203 South Commerce Street, Russellville; contact Betsy McGuire, (501) 967-1437 or [email protected]

* Thursday, May 7, 11:30 to 1 p.m., Batesville Chamber of Commerce, 409 Vine Street, Batesville; contact Joel Williams, (501) 698-1555 or [email protected]

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Hardy, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, DeWitt, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Malvern and Pocahontas. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Dumas Fayetteville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Evelyn Gill Walker House Historic Preservation Alliance Mississippi County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Kiblah School Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Arkansas Freedom Park Civil Works Administration most endangered historic places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation White County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Abolition of Slavery Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Preservation Awards Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Arkansas Design Network Pope County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Register of Historic Places Poinsett County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden National Register of Historic Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Walks Through History Marked Tree Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Helena Arkansas historic telephone booth U.S. Forest Service Historic County Courthouses Leake-Ingham Building Tolbert Gill Dionicio Rodriguez Sandwiching in History Arkansas Humanities Council National Register of Historic Places Doddridge Arkansas Duck Hunting Miller County Craftsman style architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District free teacher resources Art Deco Architecture Phillips County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Arkansas History News Release Arkansas Railroad History Cemetery Preservation Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Polk County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation historic architecture Forrest City Cemetery Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Wingmead Louisiana Main Street program Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Russellville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Batesville Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 International-Style Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Courthouse Poster steel window restoration workshop Gothic Revival architecture Barney Elias House Tudor Revival Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic resort communities Delta Cultural Center Huntsville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Saline County Arkansas Conway County Library Destination Downtown Conference Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Benton Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation cemetery preservsation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax St. Francis County Historical Society Rosston Arkansas Skillern House free historic preservation workshop Montgomery County Courthouse Turner Restoration Main Street Searcy Bogg Springs Arkansas Houston Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Naturalistic Architecture downtown economic development free history tours 19th Century Road Construction Camden Public Library County courthouse Restoration Grants Civilian Conservation Corps Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas African American Civil War History Rustic Architecture Perry County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society downtown revitalization North Little Rock Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Flood Control African American education Pike County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Three States Lumber Company Pope County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Sunken Lands Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Roe Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Ozark Arkansas Business History Folk Victorian Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Rosenwald Schools Pike County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Elias Camp Morris Paris Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mississippi Main Street Association Morrilton Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny American Legion Prairie County Arkansas cemetery preservation Arkansas religious history Newton County Arkansas Ozark Farming "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Buffalo National River Madison County Arkansas