Main Street Arkansas to Hold Application Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Main Street Arkansas will hold an application workshop for cities interested in joining the Arkansas Downtown Network program from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Thursday, October 26, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

The workshop will be led by Main Street Arkansas Director Greg Phillips and Kathy LaPlante, senior program officer and director of coordinating program services for the National Main Street Center. Attendance at the workshop is required for any communities interested in submitting an application to join the Arkansas Downtown Network in 2018. Lunch will be provided, and interested parties can register at The deadline to register is Friday, October 20.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Among the services and benefits ADN cities receive are access to Main Street Arkansas’s quarterly trainings, organizational assistance, limited technical assistance from Main Street staff members, and access to the Main Street resource center.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Paris, Newport and Hardy. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Booneville Historical Preservation Society Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Montgomery County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Downtown Revitalization Grants Nevada County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas free history tours Louisiana Main Street program Turner Restoration Wingmead New Century Club of Camden Edgar Monsanto Queeny Walks Through History Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic County Courthouses most endangered historic places historic architecture Arkansas Business History Evelyn Gill Walker House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Batesville Pope County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse White County Courthouse historic resort communities Skillern House County courthouse Restoration Grants Naturalistic Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Central High School Madison County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Folk Victorian Architecture slipcover removal grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District downtown revitalization Main Street Arkansas Miller County American Legion downtown economic development Arkansas religious history Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Railroad History African American education Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Pike County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Erbie Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Saline County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Monroe County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Barney Elias House Main Street Searcy Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Helena Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Art Deco Architecture Pike County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference Civilian Conservation Corps historic telephone booth Camden Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Clarendon Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedmen's Bureau Dr. Ruth Hawkins Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic Places Mississippi Main Street Association Duck Hunting Arkansas History Perry County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut 19th Century Road Construction Houston Arkansas cemetery preservsation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Doddridge Arkansas Camden Public Library Tolbert Gill Fayetteville Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Centennial Baptist Church International-Style Architecture U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Conway County Library Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Roe Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Humanities Council St. Francis County Historical Society Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Historic Preservation Program steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Design Network Three States Lumber Company Buffalo National River Elias Camp Morris Pope County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Ozark Farming Forrest City Cemetery Real Estate Transfer Tax Trail of Tears in Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Gothic Revival architecture Paris Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Polk County Arkansas National Register of Historic Prairie County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Delta Cultural Center Newton County Arkansas Flood Control North Little Rock Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Bogg Springs Arkansas National Historic Landmark Kiblah School 13th Amendment Camden to Washington Road Benton Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Sandwiching in History Main Street Texarkana Abolition of Slavery Craftsman style architecture Bogg Springs Hotel U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Alliance Rustic Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola historic Arkansas properties Booneville Arkansas free teacher resources Cemetery Preservation Library News Release Civil Works Administration Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Russellville Arkansas Sunken Lands Freedom Park Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Preservation Awards Burdette Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Leake-Ingham Building Phillips County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation