Main Street Arkansas to Hold El Dorado Retail Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 04, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Mark Miller, Main Street Arkansas small business consultant, will present “Be a Top Dog!: Take Your Fair Share from the ‘Big Box’ Pack” beginning at 6:15 p.m. on Thursday, August 24, at the El Dorado Chamber of Commerce at 111 West Main Street. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Miller’s presentation will include information on what attracts people to shop downtown instead of at “big box” retailers, factors that help small stores survive, and thinking outside of the traditional retail “box.” His presentation will be preceded by a “Mingle and Snack” from 5:45 to 6:15 p.m. For additional information about the free workshop, contact Beth Brumley at (870) 862-4747.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Paris, Newport and Hardy. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Monroe County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Design Network Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Camden Arkansas National Register of Historic free teacher resources Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Phillips County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Monsanto Chemical Corporation Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau North Little Rock Arkansas historic architecture Burdette Arkansas Houston Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Pope County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas downtown economic development Flood Control Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Huntsville Arkansas Helena Arkansas cemetery preservsation Benton Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas free history tours Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Edgar Monsanto Queeny Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Lesson Plan free historic preservation workshop Abolition of Slavery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Ozark Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Leake-Ingham Building Camden to Washington Road International-Style Architecture American Legion Walks Through History Renaissance Revival Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Main Street Siloam Springs Monroe County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Dumas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Buffalo National River most endangered historic places Wingmead U.S. Forest Service Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Humanities Council Madison County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Downtown Revitalization Grants Miller County cemetery preservation Marked Tree Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation 13th Amendment National Historic Landmark 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Business History Paris Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Booneville Historical Preservation Society Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Batesville U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Railroad History downtown revitalization White County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas religious history County courthouse Restoration Grants Dionicio Rodriguez Historic Preservation Alliance Art Deco Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Roe Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Booneville Arkansas Barney Elias House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Elias Camp Morris Rosenwald Schools Forrest City Cemetery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas African American Civil War History Pope County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Preservation Awards Destination Downtown Conference Pulaski County Courthouse Sunken Lands 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation steel window restoration workshop Dr. Ruth Hawkins Bogg Springs Arkansas Conway County Library Ouachita County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Mid-Century Modern Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Delta Cultural Center Turner Restoration Skillern House Main Street Texarkana Centennial Baptist Church slipcover removal grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Craftsman style architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Register of Historic Places News Release historic resort communities Camden Public Library Polk County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Cemetery Preservation Library historic telephone booth Ozark Farming Civil Works Administration Freedom Park Montgomery County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Naturalistic Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Civilian Conservation Corps Pike County Courthouse African American education Folk Victorian Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Searcy Kiblah School