Main Street Designer to Present Mid-Century Architecture Lecture

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 03, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–Mason Toms, preservation service and design coordinator for Main Street Arkansas, will present a program on mid-century architecture to the Pulaski County Historical Society on Sunday, February 12, AHPP Interim Director Marian Boyd announced today.



Toms will present “John Toland: The Pioneer of the Concrete Block Frontier”at 2 p.m. at the Darragh Center of the Central Arkansas Library System’s Main Library at 100 Rock Street in Little Rock. Toland was a major developer in North Little Rock’s Levy and Amboy neighborhoods and was noteworthy for his use in concrete blocks in his residential structure.

The presentation is free and open to the public. For more information, contact [email protected].

Main Street Arkansas is a program of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Ozark Freedmen's Bureau Skillern House slipcover removal grants Benton Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture American Legion Sunken Lands St. Francis County Historical Society African American education 19th Century Road Construction Miller County Folk Victorian Architecture Kiblah School Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Abolition of Slavery 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Nevada County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Helena Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Camden Public Library Gothic Revival architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Sandwiching in History U.S. Forest Service free historic preservation workshop Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut National Register of Historic Places Huntsville Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Camden Arkansas most endangered historic places Houston Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas History Clarendon Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Flood Control Civilian Conservation Corps Art Deco Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas State University Heritage Sites "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants New Century Club of Camden Walks Through History Main Street Searcy Poinsett County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Madison County Arkansas historic architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny News Release downtown economic development Destination Downtown Conference steel window restoration workshop Mississippi County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council cemetery preservsation Rustic Architecture Paris Arkansas free history tours North Little Rock Arkansas historic telephone booth Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Lesson Plan Cemetery Preservation Library Camden to Washington Road Pope County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse Conway County Library Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pike County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Bogg Springs Hotel Burdette Plantation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Freedom Park Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Alliance downtown revitalization Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Let Freedom Ring Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic County Courthouses Phillips County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Tolbert Gill Forrest City Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Rosston Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic resort communities Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Railroad History Barney Elias House Buffalo National River Delta Cultural Center Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Siloam Springs Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Business History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Fayetteville Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Russellville Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax National Historic Landmark Wingmead Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas religious history free teacher resources Turner Restoration Arkansas Design Network Evelyn Gill Walker House Tudor Revival Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Ozark Farming Dionicio Rodriguez Erbie Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Duck Hunting Free Courthouse Poster Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pike County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Craftsman style architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Batesville Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Newton County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola 13th Amendment Monroe County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Cumberland Presbyterian Church National Register of Historic Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Louisiana Main Street program Marked Tree Arkansas White County Courthouse cemetery preservation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Roe Arkansas