Meeting Set on Possible Prairie Grove Historic District

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, April 28, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will hold a public meeting at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 16, in the Prairie Grove District Courtroom in the Prairie Grove City Hall Building at 955 East Douglas Street to discuss a project to list Prairie Grove’s historic downtown area in the National Register of Historic Places in an effort to spur rehabilitation of historic commercial buildings.

“We often receive calls from business owners seeking assistance in reusing their historic commercial structures,” Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst said. “There is a 20 percent federal tax credit and a 25 percent state tax credit for qualified rehabilitation projects if the historic buildings are eligible for the National Register. Pursuing historic district nominations will allow the AHPP to make the maximum number of buildings possible eligible for those tax credits.”

Benefits of historic district designation include:

* Eligibility for state and federal tax credits for rehabilitation of historic buildings

* The prestige of having a National Register historic district

* Heritage tourism

* Grant possibilities for buildings owned by local government or non-profit organizations

* Increased property values.

For more information, contact Ralph Wilcox at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected], write him at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


St. Francis County Historical Society historic telephone booth Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Ozark Three States Lumber Company historic architecture Pope County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation cemetery preservsation Main Street Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Wingmead Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Morrilton Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Monroe County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Buffalo National River Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic resort communities Camden Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Houston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Delta Cultural Center Cemetery Preservation Library Doddridge Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Benton Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Bogg Springs Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture National Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance International-Style Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas State University Heritage Sites American Legion Burdette Arkansas free teacher resources Free Lesson Plan Abolition of Slavery Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Sandwiching in History Arkansas History Erbie Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Evelyn Gill Walker House Turner Restoration Let Freedom Ring Sunken Lands Craftsman style architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church County courthouse Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Flood Control Civilian Conservation Corps Montgomery County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Phillips County Arkansas Walks Through History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Historic County Courthouses Helena Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Folk Victorian Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society cemetery preservation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mosaic Templars Cultural Center historic Arkansas properties Arkansas religious history Rustic Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Duck Hunting Little Rock Central High School Fayetteville Arkansas Miller County Marked Tree Arkansas Skillern House Free Courthouse Poster free history tours steel window restoration workshop Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden to Washington Road Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Preservation Awards North Little Rock Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Camden Public Library Main Street Texarkana Barney Elias House Pope County Courthouse Monsanto Chemical Corporation Russellville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pulaski County Courthouse National Historic Landmark Tolbert Gill Prairie County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas African American education Elias Camp Morris Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Freedmen's Bureau Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Batesville Arkansas Historic Preservation Program downtown revitalization New Century Club of Camden most endangered historic places Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas History Lesson Plans Roe Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Design Network Pike County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Kiblah School Newton County Arkansas Paris Arkansas National Register of Historic U.S. Forest Service News Release free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Business History Mississippi Main Street Association Perry County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Destination Downtown Conference Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot 13th Amendment Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Dumas Conway County Library Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Downtown Revitalization Grants Ozark Farming Madison County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Forrest City Cemetery Trail of Tears in Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Freedom Park downtown economic development Civil Works Administration