Mowdy to Manage Jacob Wolf House

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, February 07, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program has hired Marlon Mowdy to develop the Jacob Wolf House Historic Site in Norfork, AHPP Interim Director Marian Boyd announced today.

Mowdy will be responsible for planning and developing management and interpretation at the Jacob Wolfe House, a ca.1825 building that served as the original Izard County Courthouse.

“I’m very excited that Marlon Mowdy is joining the AHPP and helping to develop the Wolf House as a heritage tourism destination,” Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst said. “We look forward to welcoming visitors to Arkansas’s oldest courthouse later this year.”

Mowdy, who holds a master’s degree in heritage studies and public history from Arkansas State University, is a nineteen-year resource management veteran of Arkansas State Parks, the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, having served as superintendent and ranger at museums, parks and wildlife refuges.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Houston Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places cemetery preservation historic Arkansas properties Renaissance Revival Architecture Freedom Park Burdette Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites National Register of Historic Places Doddridge Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Siloam Springs Elias Camp Morris Free Courthouse Poster Forrest City Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Searcy Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas African American Civil War History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Barney Elias House Conway County Library Dr. Ruth Hawkins Sandwiching in History Main Street Ozark News Release National Historic Landmark Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Folk Victorian Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library National Register of Historic Let Freedom Ring International-Style Architecture historic resort communities Miller County Leake-Ingham Building Pike County Courthouse Ozark Farming Pulaski County Courthouse historic telephone booth Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Tolbert Gill Evelyn Gill Walker House Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot downtown economic development Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Newton County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas Humanities Council Huntsville Commercial Historic District Cumberland Presbyterian Church St. Francis County Historical Society American Legion Montgomery County Courthouse Duck Hunting Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas History Lesson Plans Kiblah School Saline County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Helena Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Flood Control downtown revitalization Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Russellville Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission most endangered historic places Walks Through History Three States Lumber Company "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Ouachita County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House slipcover removal grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society Prairie County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Paris Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Pope County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Huntsville Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Bogg Springs Hotel Madison County Arkansas Main Street Batesville New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mosaic Templars Cultural Center U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Historic Preservation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Roe Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Design Network County courthouse Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Camden Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Central High School Neighborhood Historic District free history tours Tudor Revival Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Dumas Art Deco Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Skillern House Pope County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Craftsman style architecture Camden to Washington Road Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Sunken Lands Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Business History cemetery preservsation Downtown Revitalization Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free historic preservation workshop Gothic Revival architecture Wingmead Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Monroe County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Turner Restoration Civilian Conservation Corps historic architecture Free Lesson Plan Pike County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rosston Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi Main Street Association free teacher resources Phillips County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas African American education Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Arkansas Camden Public Library Centennial Baptist Church North Little Rock Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Marked Tree Arkansas Burdette Plantation White County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses Main Street Texarkana Benton Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Railroad History 19th Century Road Construction Polk County Arkansas 13th Amendment Freedmen's Bureau Erbie Arkansas