Nine Arkansas Properties to be Considered for National Register

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, July 19, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider nine Arkansas properties in six counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, August 2, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Darragh Building and Governor’s Mansion Historic District Boundary Expansion at Little Rock, Dr. Charles H. Kennedy House in North Little Rock and West-Blazer House near Jacksonville in Pulaski County

* Scull Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County

* Jewell Bain House #4 at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County

* Arkansas Research Test Station near Caddo Gap in Montgomery County

* Johnson-Portis House at West Memphis in Crittenden County

* Pernot House at Van Buren in Crawford County

The board will also consider the Bush House at Hot Springs in Garland County, Linwood Cemetery at Paragould in Greene County, and the YWCA Building, Memorial Stadium and American Legion Building-TAC House at El Dorado in Union County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


New Century Club of Camden Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Rustic Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Ouachita County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Houston Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free history tours Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Program U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Camden Public Library Arkansas Preservation Awards Let Freedom Ring Cumberland Presbyterian Church Dionicio Rodriguez News Release Elias Camp Morris Huntsville Commercial Historic District Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Montgomery County Courthouse Barney Elias House National Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau free teacher resources Main Street Dumas Arkansas History Lesson Plans U.S. Forest Service Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Real Estate Transfer Tax Duck Hunting White County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation International-Style Architecture Leake-Ingham Building Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Pope County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Little Rock Central High School Renaissance Revival Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Batesville African American education Turner Restoration Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Freedom Park slipcover removal grants Fayetteville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Tudor Revival Architecture Rosenwald Schools Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Historic Preservation historic telephone booth Mississippi Main Street Association Pike County Courthouse historic resort communities Pope County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Prairie County Arkansas downtown revitalization Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Downtown Revitalization Grants Abolition of Slavery Evelyn Gill Walker House National Register of Historic Booneville Historical Preservation Society Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Monroe County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Centennial Baptist Church Morrilton Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Booneville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Burdette Plantation Main Street Searcy Miller County Historic County Courthouses Walks Through History Benton Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Railroad History Erbie Arkansas most endangered historic places Helena Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Delta Cultural Center Main Street Siloam Springs downtown economic development Arkansas Design Network Newton County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Sandwiching in History St. Francis County Historical Society Mid-Century Modern Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Montgomery County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot American Legion Camden to Washington Road Monsanto Chemical Corporation Monroe County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Henry Koen Office Building Folk Victorian Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Roe Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Kiblah School 13th Amendment Arkansas Business History Arkansas African American Civil War History National Historic Landmark Paris Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Skillern House North Little Rock Arkansas historic architecture Perry County Arkansas Flood Control Conway County Library Tolbert Gill Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Civil Works Administration Main Street Ozark Three States Lumber Company Arkansas History Naturalistic Architecture Wingmead Pike County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Ozark Farming Poinsett County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Saline County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Doddridge Arkansas cemetery preservation Nevada County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Sunken Lands Gothic Revival architecture Clarendon Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas State University Heritage Sites