Our Lady of the Ozarks

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, June 17, 2019


In 1954 approximately 3,000 people are reported to have made a pilgrimage to a remote shrine in the heart of the Boston Mountains. This shrine is located in Winslow at Our Lady of the Ozarks, a Catholic mission/shrine founded in 1944 on land donated by Miss Clara Muxen, a nun who relocated to the Ozarks with her family from Iowa. In May of 2019, 75 years after being founded, Our Lady of the Ozarks was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. This listing will help to preserve this unique landmark nestled in the Ozarks for pilgrims, worshipers, and tourists into the future. 

“The shrine of Our Lady in the picturesque Boston Mountain range between Fort Smith and Fayetteville, has long been a place of pilgrimage for both Arkansans and out-of-state visitors,” The Guardian, 1963. 

Muxen’s gifts went beyond land. She provided ornamentation for the church which led to its designation as a shrine. What sets a shrine apart from a regular church, according to Catholic Church canon, is a shrine is a sacred place approved by a bishop and visited by pilgrims. There are several key sculptures on the property including Saint Therese The Little Flower, Christ Crucified, Christ Resurrected, and Saint Anthony de Padua. 

Muxen named the mission Our Lady of the Ozarks in honor of The Virgin of the Smile, a statue inspired by the story of Saint Therese, a 19th century youth from Lisieux, France, who was cured of illness by a vision of Mary who appeared to her and smiled. Saint Therese is the Patroness of Missions so it is fitting that her story be interwoven into that of this mission. The statue of The Virgin of the Smile was created by DePrato Studios in Chicago and can still be seen at the site today.
Before the construction of Our Lady of the Ozarks, Catholics in the Boston Mountain region of northwest Arkansas had little access to church services. After an effort by local women to organize a parish, the Diocese of Little Rock formed Our Lady of the Ozarks and parishioners established a small mission near Winslow. In 1944, the parish began building the current native stone church and established a Marian (Mother Mary) statue on the front lawn. Over a two-year period, the parish added more statues to the grounds and finished the original plans for the church. Bishop Alfred Morris officially dedicated the shrine in August of 1946.

Since its inception as the first Marian shrine in Arkansas, Our Lady of the Ozarks has remained a prominent shrine and has served as an annual destination for Catholic pilgrims. 

You can view video from the 1949 pilgrimage event at Our Lady of the Ozarks at: 

Sources: National Register Nomination Form authored by Ralph Wilcox and


Recent Posts


New Century Club of Camden 19th Century Road Construction Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Railroad History Conway County Library Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops cemetery preservsation most endangered historic places National Register of Historic Places Dr. Ruth Hawkins Art Deco Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas History Lesson Plans Doddridge Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Humanities Council Polk County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny free teacher resources steel window restoration workshop Rustic Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Kiblah School Booneville Arkansas Skillern House Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Fayetteville Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Newton County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Sandwiching in History free history tours Abolition of Slavery Freedom Park Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mississippi Main Street Association Turner Restoration Phillips County Arkansas historic resort communities Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Freedmen's Bureau Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Business History Leake-Ingham Building Little Rock Central High School 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Nevada County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Renaissance Revival Architecture Helena Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society National Historic Landmark Main Street Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District African American education Naturalistic Architecture free historic preservation workshop Destination Downtown Conference cemetery preservation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Henry Koen Office Building Huntsville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Duck Hunting Pope County Courthouse Barney Elias House Erbie Arkansas Main Street Batesville Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission News Release Flood Control Real Estate Transfer Tax Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Madison County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Gothic Revival architecture historic architecture Roe Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Let Freedom Ring Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Saline County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Ozark Pike County Arkansas Miller County American Legion Montgomery County Courthouse 13th Amendment Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Searcy Civil Works Administration Camden Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas religious history Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Wingmead Civilian Conservation Corps Prairie County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Montgomery County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Monsanto Chemical Corporation Downtown Revitalization Grants Central High School Neighborhood Historic District White County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Texarkana Tolbert Gill historic Arkansas properties Paris Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Burdette Plantation Forrest City Cemetery downtown economic development Rosenwald Schools downtown revitalization Walks Through History historic telephone booth International-Style Architecture Camden Public Library Arkansas History Benton Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut National Register of Historic Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Pike County Courthouse Ozark Farming Ouachita County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company Craftsman style architecture Historic County Courthouses Main Street Dumas Buffalo National River Arkansas Design Network Mid-Century Modern Architecture Russellville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Trail of Tears in Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Sunken Lands Rosston Arkansas