Pine Bluff Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, November 28, 2017

The Dellmon and McGregor Hardware Building at 220 West Barraque in the Pine Bluff Commercial Historic District at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Dellmon and McGregor Hardware Building was built in 1883 and updated around 1931.

“In the original nomination for the Pine Bluff Commercial Historic District, the Dellmon & McGregor Hardware Building at 220 West Barraque was inadvertently omitted from the property list, even though it is within the district’s boundary,” according to the National Register nomination. “The building was initially built in 1883 and then renovated c.1931 with modifications to the first floor of the building and the application of stucco to the second floor. Architecturally and historically, the Dellmon & McGregor Hardware Building reflects the district’s period of significance and those qualities that make the district significant.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Clarendon Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Pulaski County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture Destination Downtown Conference Little Rock Central High School Cemetery Preservation Library Monroe County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers slipcover removal grants Camden to Washington Road 19th Century Road Construction Real Estate Transfer Tax free historic preservation workshop Freedmen's Bureau Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Kiblah School Civilian Conservation Corps Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Downtown Revitalization Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Dumas Arkansas Humanities Council historic resort communities Arkansas Business History Helena Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Design Network Camden Public Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pope County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites historic telephone booth Freedom Park Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Elias Camp Morris County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas History Historic County Courthouses historic architecture Free Courthouse Poster Three States Lumber Company Pike County Courthouse cemetery preservation Houston Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture downtown revitalization Main Street Searcy historic Arkansas properties Miller County Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Free Lesson Plan Conway County Library Walks Through History Mississippi County Arkansas free teacher resources U.S. Forest Service Prairie County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Erbie Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas National Register of Historic Delta Cultural Center Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free history tours Historic Preservation Alliance Buffalo National River Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Ozark Farming Mid-Century Modern Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Texarkana Doddridge Arkansas 13th Amendment Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Mississippi Main Street Association Marked Tree Arkansas Turner Restoration New Century Club of Camden Rosenwald Schools Tolbert Gill News Release Forrest City Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building African American education Rustic Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House most endangered historic places Rosston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Main Street Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Railroad History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Burdette Plantation Bogg Springs Hotel Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Wingmead 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Poinsett County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Naturalistic Architecture Paris Arkansas International-Style Architecture downtown economic development Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Dr. Ruth Hawkins Civil Works Administration Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Russellville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Camden Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Ozark Forrest City Cemetery Edgar Monsanto Queeny Louisiana Main Street program Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Polk County Arkansas Flood Control Roe Arkansas National Historic Landmark Arkansas religious history Perry County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas African American Civil War History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pope County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas White County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Marked Tree Lock and Siphons American Legion Arkansas Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Sandwiching in History Skillern House Sunken Lands Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Madison County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Abolition of Slavery cemetery preservsation Duck Hunting Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Batesville North Little Rock Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas