Pine Bluff Federal Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, February 23, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Federal Building – U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Federal Building – U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 100 East 8th Street is a three-story International-style building built in 1965-1967 and designed by Erhart, Eichenbaum, Rauch & Blass and Brueggeman and Landauer & Associates.

“The Pine Bluff U.S. Post Office and Courthouse is significant for its associations with the role of urban renewal in Pine Bluff,” according to the National Register nomination. “By the mid-twentieth century, the area where the federal building was built had deteriorated and decayed into a swampy area that was occupied by substandard housing and struggling businesses. However, the construction of the Pine Bluff U.S. Post Office and Courthouse (along with the entire Civic Center complex) represented the pivotal role of urban renewal in modernizing and revitalizing Pine Bluff’s downtown in the 1960s.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Sunken Lands Ozark Farming Booneville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas most endangered historic places News Release Civilian Conservation Corps Cumberland Presbyterian Church Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas religious history Downtown Revitalization Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Destination Downtown Conference Freedom Park Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden to Washington Road Benton Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Free Courthouse Poster historic telephone booth Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Ozark Pike County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Doddridge Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants historic architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Tolbert Gill Skillern House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Perry County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers free history tours Montgomery County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House steel window restoration workshop Arkansas History National Historic Landmark Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Batesville Evelyn Gill Walker House Burdette Plantation Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Searcy Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum 19th Century Road Construction Duck Hunting U.S. Forest Service Freedmen's Bureau Polk County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Arkansas History Lesson Plans County courthouse Restoration Grants Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Civil Works Administration Miller County Dr. Ruth Hawkins Rustic Architecture free historic preservation workshop Folk Victorian Architecture Little Rock Central High School Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Buffalo National River Flood Control cemetery preservsation free teacher resources Three States Lumber Company downtown economic development slipcover removal grants Monroe County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church historic resort communities Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mississippi Main Street Association Trail of Tears in Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building North Little Rock Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas National Register of Historic Rosenwald Schools 13th Amendment Sandwiching in History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Camden Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Design Network Pope County Arkansas Walks Through History Pike County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Monsanto Chemical Corporation Forrest City Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Leake-Ingham Building Clarendon Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Conway County Library Newton County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Helena Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Business History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Marked Tree Arkansas downtown revitalization Rosston Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Free Lesson Plan Roe Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Poinsett County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District cemetery preservation Burdette Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Arkansas Barney Elias House Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Texarkana Wingmead Huntsville Commercial Historic District Houston Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Edgar Monsanto Queeny Louisiana Main Street program Ouachita County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Turner Restoration Camden Public Library Nevada County Arkansas Kiblah School Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax American Legion Delta Cultural Center International-Style Architecture Main Street Dumas Main Street Siloam Springs National Register of Historic Places White County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture African American education Prairie County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Pulaski County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Erbie Arkansas