Prairie Grove Telephone Booth Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, November 20, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth at Prairie Grove in Washington County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth, located on the southwest corner of East Douglas and Parker streets, was built around1960 and features aluminum and glass construction.

“The Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth represented a new direction in the design of telephone booths,” according to the National Register nomination. “Instead of wooden booths that were found inside hotels, drug stores, or other businesses in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth was developed specifically for outdoor use. Its aluminum and glass construction was durable enough to stand up to the elements and the amount of glass along with the louvers on the sides allowed its namesake elements – air and light – to flood the booth.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Kiblah School Saline County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedmen's Bureau free historic preservation workshop Wingmead Monroe County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Conway County Library Art Deco Architecture Delta Cultural Center Mississippi Main Street Association Edgar Monsanto Queeny Turner Restoration Real Estate Transfer Tax Rustic Architecture Walks Through History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Courthouse Poster Huntsville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas 13th Amendment Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana National Register of Historic Rosenwald Schools Sandwiching in History Perry County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Louisiana Main Street program Barney Elias House Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Siloam Springs Poinsett County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Paris Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Freedom Park Bogg Springs Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture free history tours Trail of Tears in Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Evelyn Gill Walker House cemetery preservation Pike County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Little Rock Central High School National Historic Landmark downtown economic development Doddridge Arkansas African American education Polk County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Flood Control Craftsman style architecture Buffalo National River Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Forrest City Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Morrilton Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Burdette Plantation Sunken Lands 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Civil Works Administration Skillern House Ouachita County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Camden to Washington Road Duck Hunting Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Humanities Council Clarendon Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Elias Camp Morris Mississippi County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission New Century Club of Camden Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas African American Civil War History Naturalistic Architecture Miller County Camden Public Library Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas State University Heritage Sites "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants American Legion Pike County Courthouse Arkansas religious history Three States Lumber Company Dionicio Rodriguez Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Searcy Montgomery County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan most endangered historic places Montgomery County Arkansas historic telephone booth Newton County Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas Register of Historic Places Prairie County Arkansas free teacher resources News Release Main Street Ozark Downtown Revitalization Grants Russellville Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Pulaski County Courthouse historic architecture Arkansas Design Network Booneville Historical Preservation Society Tolbert Gill Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Rosston Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Phillips County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Renaissance Revival Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Camden Arkansas Helena Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Benton Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Dumas Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Historic Preservation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center White County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps U.S. Forest Service National Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Let Freedom Ring Ozark Farming cemetery preservsation Arkansas Business History historic Arkansas properties Pope County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic resort communities International-Style Architecture Houston Arkansas