Preserve Arkansas Announces Most-Endangered Historic Sites

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, May 23, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Preserve Arkansas’s 2017 Most Endangered Places list includes neglected or forgotten cemeteries throughout Arkansas, two ice houses, two rural churches, neighborhood schools slated for closure, and two historically African American neighborhoods.

The announcement took place on May 19 in the first floor lobby of the historic Fulk Building at 300 Main Street in Little Rock. Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places Program began in 1999 to raise awareness of historically and architecturally significant properties throughout the state that are facing threats such as deterioration, neglect, insufficient funds, insensitive public policy, and inappropriate development. Preserve Arkansas solicited nominations from individuals and organizations throughout the state. The list is updated each year to generate discussion and support for saving these important resources.

Properties named to the 2017 “Endangered Eight” list are as follows:

* Cemeteries, Burial Grounds, and Graveyards (Statewide)

* Citizens’ Electric Company Light and Power Plant, Ice House, and Cold Storage Building (Eureka Springs, Carroll County)

* Old Galatia Church (Norfork vic., Baxter County)

* Home Ice Company (Jonesboro, Craighead County)

* Little Rock Public Schools Slated for Closure: Franklin Elementary School and Woodruff Early Childhood Center (Little Rock, Pulaski County)

* Pankey Community (Little Rock, Pulaski County)

* Pleasant Street Historic District (Hot Springs, Garland County)

* Wabbaseka United Methodist Church (Wabbaseka, Jefferson County).

Photos and information about 2017’s “Endangered Eight” are available at

Preserve Arkansas is the statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to building stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. For more information about Preserve Arkansas, please contact Rachel Patton at 501-372-4757, [email protected], or visit

Recent Posts


Phillips County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Gothic Revival architecture Duck Hunting Roe Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Barney Elias House Leake-Ingham Building Freedom Park Houston Arkansas Walks Through History Pope County Courthouse White County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council National Register of Historic Places Kiblah School Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mississippi Main Street Association cemetery preservsation steel window restoration workshop Rosston Arkansas Main Street Batesville Arkansas History Lesson Plans Edgar Monsanto Queeny Flood Control Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas religious history New Century Club of Camden historic resort communities Main Street Searcy Conway County Library Craftsman style architecture Cemetery Preservation Library U.S. Forest Service Free Lesson Plan Abolition of Slavery most endangered historic places African American education Camden to Washington Road Renaissance Revival Architecture Destination Downtown Conference historic architecture Camden Public Library 13th Amendment Burdette Plantation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Free Courthouse Poster Pike County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Design Network Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Paris Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Burdette Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Ozark Farming Buffalo National River Forrest City Cemetery free historic preservation workshop Centennial Baptist Church Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Poinsett County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Clarendon Arkansas National Historic Landmark Turner Restoration Arkansas Register of Historic Places Camden Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Humanities Council Perry County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Miller County "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Skillern House Main Street Siloam Springs Civilian Conservation Corps Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Downtown Revitalization Grants Mississippi County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Business History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Sandwiching in History Madison County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards free history tours Rosenwald Schools Booneville Arkansas Civil Works Administration Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Railroad History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Bogg Springs Arkansas Erbie Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture American Legion Prairie County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society historic Arkansas properties Montgomery County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Booneville Historical Preservation Society 19th Century Road Construction Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown economic development Pulaski County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Evelyn Gill Walker House Dionicio Rodriguez Sunken Lands free teacher resources Fayetteville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax downtown revitalization County courthouse Restoration Grants Nevada County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Ouachita County Arkansas slipcover removal grants historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance Monroe County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Main Street Ozark Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Dr. Ruth Hawkins National Register of Historic Folk Victorian Architecture cemetery preservation Freedmen's Bureau International-Style Architecture Main Street Dumas Forrest City Arkansas Benton Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas History News Release Wingmead Arkansas African American Civil War History Delta Cultural Center Tolbert Gill Rustic Architecture Helena Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Saline County Arkansas