Preserve Arkansas Award Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, October 27, 2017

Preserve Arkansas has announced the recipients of the 2017 Arkansas Preservation Awards. The Awards Banquet will take place on January 19, 2018, at the Albert Pike Memorial Temple at 712 Scott Street in Little Rock.

The following is a complete list of honorees:

Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement

Tommy Jameson, AIA, Little Rock

Excellence in Heritage Preservation Award

Arkansas Archeological Survey for “Gathering, Gardening and Agriculture: Plant-based Foodways in the Southeastern United States” 5th-grade school curriculum

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation Award

Infrastructure: Springfield Bridge Preservation Project, Conway

Residential: Arkansas Democrat Lofts, Little Rock

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation Award

Commercial: Thompson Building/The Waters Hotel, Hot Springs

Honorable Mention : Lane Hotel/Haas Hall Academy, Rogers

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration Award

Infrastructure: War Eagle Bridge, Hindsville

Nonprofit: Cane Hill College, Canehill

Commercial: Isaac Homard House, Little Rock

Honorable Mention : Lockesburg High School Gymnasium, Lockesburg

Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting Award

Cameron Bluff Amphitheater, Mount Magazine State Park, Paris

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education Award

Arkansas Archeological Survey for the Bluff Shelters of the Arkansas Ozarks website

Honorable Mention: Department of Landscape Architecture

Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design, University of Arkansas, for “If Walls Could Talk: The Story of the Hicks Property”

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy Award

Mosaic Templars Building Preservation Society

Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media Award

First United Methodist Church, Forrest City for the “A Moment in History” radio program

Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication Award

University of Arkansas Press for Shadow Patterns: Reflections on Fay Jones and His Architecture

Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation Award

Park Avenue Community Association, Hot Springs for the Historic Park Avenue Walking Tour

Excellence in Personal Projects

Commercial: Zachary Smith and Cheryl Roorda, 236-238-240 Ouachita Avenue, Hot Springs

Residential : Chris H. Olsen, The Edgemont House (Justin Matthews, Jr., House), North Little Rock

Honorable Mention: Joe and Janelle Shell, Adam and Mandi Curtwright, Melba Theater, Batesville.

Tickets and sponsorship opportunities are available at For more information, please contact Preserve Arkansas at 501-372-4757 or [email protected].

Preserve Arkansas is the statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to building stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. By presenting educational programs, advocating for preservation at

the federal, state, and local levels, and assisting historic property owners with the means and expertise to preserve and restore their structures, Preserve Arkansas has been a statewide voice for preservation in Arkansas for 36 years.


Recent Posts


Montgomery County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Art Deco Architecture Perry County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Clarendon Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Duck Hunting Henry Koen Office Building North Little Rock Arkansas cemetery preservsation Helena Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Forrest City Cemetery Delta Cultural Center Civilian Conservation Corps White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Little Rock Central High School Evelyn Gill Walker House Mid-Century Modern Architecture Walks Through History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax most endangered historic places Mississippi Main Street Association New Century Club of Camden Arkansas religious history Free Courthouse Poster Russellville Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Marked Tree Arkansas free history tours Rosenwald Schools Main Street Searcy Pope County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Arkansas Buffalo National River Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Civil Works Administration Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservation Sandwiching in History Gothic Revival architecture Rosston Arkansas African American education Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut free historic preservation workshop Louisiana Main Street program Monroe County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Burdette Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Historic Preservation Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Skillern House Huntsville Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Ozark Farming Arkansas History Arkansas Humanities Council Erbie Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Madison County Arkansas downtown revitalization Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Camden Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas slipcover removal grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church Let Freedom Ring National Register of Historic St. Francis County Historical Society Camden to Washington Road Booneville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Conway County Library historic Arkansas properties Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Design Network Pike County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rustic Architecture National Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins free teacher resources 13th Amendment historic architecture International-Style Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Tudor Revival Architecture Kiblah School Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark News Release Edgar Monsanto Queeny American Legion Main Street Batesville Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Paris Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Doddridge Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Sunken Lands Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Pike County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Wingmead Booneville Historical Preservation Society Flood Control Elias Camp Morris Fayetteville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Texarkana Freedom Park Centennial Baptist Church U.S. Forest Service Bogg Springs Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas historic resort communities Burdette Plantation Craftsman style architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Monsanto Chemical Corporation Tolbert Gill Ouachita County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Historic County Courthouses Main Street Ozark historic telephone booth Forrest City Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Roe Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Turner Restoration Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Freedmen's Bureau Newton County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas Railroad History downtown economic development Miller County Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Camden Public Library Abolition of Slavery