Preserve Arkansas Receives Grant for Bigelow Rosenwald School

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 25, 2018

The National Trust for Historic Preservation has awarded Preserve Arkansas a $2,500 grant from the Arkansas Preservation Services Fund. These grant funds, along with matching funds from the Rosenwald Community Cultural Center, will be used to hire a preservation architect to evaluate the current condition of the 1926 Bigelow Rosenwald School, prioritize needs, and provide cost estimates for rehabilitation of the structure.

Located at the southwest corner of Arkansas Highway 60 and Bethel AME Road in Perry County, Arkansas, the Bigelow Rosenwald School was constructed in 1926 as part of a national building program made possible by the Julius Rosenwald Fund to improve African American educational opportunities throughout the South. Bigelow’s school was one of 389 schools and associated buildings constructed in Arkansas with help from the Rosenwald Fund. Only 18 of those buildings remain today. The Bigelow Rosenwald School was included in Preserve Arkansas's 2012 list of Arkansas's Most Endangered Historic Places, making its restoration a priority for the organization.

"Organizations like Preserve Arkansas help to ensure that communities and towns all across America retain their unique sense of place," said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. "We are honored to provide a grant to Preserve Arkansas, which will use the funds to help preserve an important piece of our shared national heritage."

Grants from the National Trust Preservation Funds generally range from $2,500 to $5,000 and have provided over $15 million since 2003. These matching grants are awarded to nonprofit organizations and public agencies across the country to support wide-ranging activities including consultant services for rehabilitating buildings, technical assistance for tourism that promotes historic resources, and the development of materials for education and outreach campaigns.

For more information on the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Preservation Fund grants, visit:

Preserve Arkansas is the only statewide nonprofit dedicated to the preservation of Arkansas’s historic and cultural resources. Preserve Arkansas works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. For more information, please visit or call 501-372-4757.

Recent Posts


Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Polk County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Ouachita County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Paris Arkansas White County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture Miller County North Little Rock Arkansas downtown revitalization County courthouse Restoration Grants Elias Camp Morris 13th Amendment Naturalistic Architecture International-Style Architecture Newton County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas African American Civil War History Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Searcy Centennial Baptist Church Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Evelyn Gill Walker House Kiblah School Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Skillern House News Release Barney Elias House Marked Tree Arkansas historic telephone booth free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Montgomery County Courthouse Ozark Farming Flood Control Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Humanities Council Phillips County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Burdette Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Free Lesson Plan Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Wingmead Fayetteville Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Civilian Conservation Corps Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas religious history Sunken Lands Booneville Historical Preservation Society Freedom Park Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission cemetery preservsation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Conway County Library Renaissance Revival Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Bogg Springs Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture National Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building free teacher resources Morrilton Arkansas Saline County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Erbie Arkansas Pope County Arkansas cemetery preservation Forrest City Cemetery Three States Lumber Company Dr. Ruth Hawkins steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Montgomery County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Batesville free history tours Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Roe Arkansas Benton Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road U.S. Forest Service Little Rock Central High School Helena Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Sandwiching in History American Legion Rustic Architecture Rosston Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Russellville Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Design Network Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Ozark Edgar Monsanto Queeny Monroe County Courthouse Pike County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Civil Works Administration Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Railroad History Madison County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Let Freedom Ring historic architecture African American education Camden Public Library Duck Hunting Doddridge Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Preservation Awards Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Arkansas History Downtown Revitalization Grants Free Courthouse Poster Abolition of Slavery Freedmen's Bureau most endangered historic places Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Walks Through History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Register of Historic Buffalo National River Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Camden Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown economic development Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Dumas slipcover removal grants Turner Restoration historic resort communities Mississippi Main Street Association Cumberland Presbyterian Church Tolbert Gill Trail of Tears in Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Business History Burdette Plantation Gothic Revival architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Henry Koen Office Building Forrest City Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pulaski County Courthouse