Preserve Arkansas Seeks Historic Preservation Award Nominations

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, July 18, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Arkansas’s statewide historic preservation organization—Preserve Arkansas—is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Arkansas Preservation Awards. Award winners will be honored at a ceremony and dinner in Little Rock on January 19, 2018. Preserve Arkansas is excited to announce that the 2017 recipient of the Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement will be Tommy Jameson, president and principal architect at JAMESON Architects P.A. in Little Rock. Additional awards will honor great preservation achievements, people who make a difference in their communities, and projects that inspire others to protect Arkansas’s special historic places.

Nominations will be accepted in twelve categories. Individual awards will recognize leading craftspeople, homeowners, volunteers, and professionals for their work. Themed awards will salute outstanding education and advocacy initiatives, community programs, and dedicated stewardship. Project awards will honor the restoration and rehabilitation of buildings and sites and compatible design in historic areas. Past honorees include architects, carpenters, and community leaders; museums, advocacy organizations, and neighborhood groups; and restorations and rehabilitations of historic schools, office buildings, post offices, courthouses, and bridges.

Members of the public are invited to submit nominations for eligible projects in the following categories:

-Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation

-Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson

-Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation

-Excellence in Preservation through Restoration

-Excellence in Personal Preservation Projects

-Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy

-Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting

-Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media

-Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication

-Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education

-Excellence in Heritage Preservation

-Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement (to be awarded in January 2019)

To nominate a person, project, or program, visit to obtain a nomination form or nominate online, or request a nomination form by calling 501-372-4757 or emailing [email protected]. Nominations are due on or before August 31, 2017.

Preserve Arkansas is the statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to building stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places.

Recent Posts


Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Courthouse downtown revitalization Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Ozark cemetery preservsation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Huntsville Commercial Historic District International-Style Architecture Conway County Library Civilian Conservation Corps Turner Restoration New Century Club of Camden Montgomery County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Freedmen's Bureau Walks Through History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Art Deco Architecture Flood Control Pope County Courthouse downtown economic development St. Francis County Historical Society Rosenwald Schools historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Railroad History Roe Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Camden Public Library Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Barney Elias House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South National Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery African American education Arkansas Preservation Awards Sunken Lands Real Estate Transfer Tax News Release Mississippi County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Duck Hunting Edgar Monsanto Queeny Let Freedom Ring Cemetery Preservation Library National Historic Landmark Evelyn Gill Walker House most endangered historic places North Little Rock Arkansas White County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Monroe County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Design Network Pulaski County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Three States Lumber Company Main Street Batesville Erbie Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Delta Cultural Center Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Monroe County Arkansas cemetery preservation Buffalo National River Cumberland Presbyterian Church Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Siloam Springs Renaissance Revival Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance steel window restoration workshop slipcover removal grants Freedom Park Burdette Plantation free teacher resources Wingmead Little Rock Central High School Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Leake-Ingham Building Prairie County Arkansas National Register of Historic Historic County Courthouses Newton County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Texarkana 13th Amendment Benton Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Ozark Farming Montgomery County Courthouse American Legion Civil Works Administration Main Street Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Historic Preservation Craftsman style architecture Camden Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas religious history Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Miller County Tolbert Gill Forrest City Arkansas historic resort communities Kiblah School Booneville Historical Preservation Society Phillips County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Gothic Revival architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Destination Downtown Conference Sandwiching in History Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Rosston Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Register of Historic Places County courthouse Restoration Grants Abolition of Slavery Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Lesson Plan Doddridge Arkansas historic telephone booth free history tours Louisiana Main Street program Nevada County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Skillern House Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Business History Arkansas History Marked Tree Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop historic architecture Ouachita County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Fayetteville Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Camden to Washington Road Pope County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation U.S. Forest Service Helena Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas