Preserve Arkansas Seeks 'Most-Endangered' Nominations

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Little Rock—Preserve Arkansas, the state’s non-profit historic preservation organization, requests the public’s help in identifying endangered historic places for the 2017 Most Endangered Places List.

The Most Endangered Places list highlights historically and architecturally significant properties throughout the state that are worthy of preservation. Preserve Arkansas is soliciting nominations from residents and organizations across Arkansas of buildings, structures, sites, and other places to be considered for inclusion in the list. The nomination deadline is Friday, March 17, 2017.

The Most Endangered Places program began in 1999 to raise awareness of the importance of historic properties to the state's heritage. The sites reflect threats such as deterioration, neglect, insufficient funds, insensitive public policy, and inappropriate development. Preserve Arkansas will compile the 2017 list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places by soliciting nominations from the public, and the list will be announced in May during Arkansas Heritage Month and National Preservation Month.

Previous listings include the Johnny Cash Boyhood Home in Dyess, the William E. Woodruff House in Little Rock, Arkansas Mound Sites throughout the state, the White River Bridge in Clarendon, the Thompson Building in Hot Springs, African-American Rosenwald Schools, and Historic County Courthouses throughout the state.

Criteria considered for inclusion in the list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places includes the degree of a property's local, state, or national significance; a property's eligibility for the National Register of Historic Places, and the imminence and degree of the threat to the property.

The public is invited to participate in the Most Endangered Places program by nominating properties to Preserve Arkansas’s 2017 list. Nomination information and program guidelines may be found at The property nomination information, photographs, and support materials may be submitted via an online form or email. For more information, call 501-372-4757 or email [email protected].

Preserve Arkansas works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. For more information about Preserve Arkansas or to become a member, contact Rachel Silva at 501-372-4757, [email protected], or visit


Recent Posts


most endangered historic places Main Street Texarkana Monsanto Chemical Corporation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Register of Historic Places historic architecture Tolbert Gill Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Arkansas cemetery preservation downtown revitalization Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Batesville Central High School Neighborhood Historic District U.S. Forest Service National Register of Historic Places Turner Restoration cemetery preservsation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pope County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot White County Courthouse Houston Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Forrest City Cemetery Ozark Farming Miller County Historic Preservation Alliance Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Conway County Library Wingmead steel window restoration workshop Burdette Arkansas Helena Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants American Legion free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Railroad History Polk County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses Arkansas African American Civil War History Renaissance Revival Architecture Elias Camp Morris Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Dionicio Rodriguez free teacher resources Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Historic Preservation Evelyn Gill Walker House 13th Amendment Duck Hunting Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Art Deco Architecture Craftsman style architecture Freedom Park Fayetteville Arkansas Buffalo National River Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Roe Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas historic telephone booth Mid-Century Modern Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pike County Courthouse Russellville Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut slipcover removal grants Barney Elias House free history tours Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cumberland Presbyterian Church Skillern House Centennial Baptist Church Erbie Arkansas historic resort communities New Century Club of Camden Monroe County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas religious history Ouachita County Arkansas National Register of Historic Let Freedom Ring Camden Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Delta Cultural Center Newton County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Gothic Revival architecture St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Searcy Benton Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network International-Style Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Rustic Architecture News Release Monroe County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Bogg Springs Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps downtown economic development Edgar Monsanto Queeny Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Hotel Civil Works Administration Huntsville Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Sunken Lands Free Courthouse Poster Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Montgomery County Courthouse Walks Through History Folk Victorian Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Saline County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Huntsville Commercial Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Business History Camden Public Library Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Pope County Arkansas African American education Clarendon Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Dumas Madison County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Perry County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans Flood Control historic Arkansas properties Main Street Siloam Springs Prairie County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pike County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Poinsett County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Ozark Rosston Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Booneville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Sandwiching in History Morrilton Arkansas Kiblah School