Preserve Arkansas to Tour Tuberculosis Sanatorium

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, October 20, 2017

Join Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum for a free, guided walking tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District on Saturday, October 21 at 12:30 p.m. The Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium operated from 1910 until 1973, and by 1940 it was the largest and best facility of its kind in the United States. When antibiotics made it easier to treat tuberculosis, facilities like the Arkansas Sanatorium at Booneville became obsolete. The Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium officially closed on June 30, 1973, having provided care for an estimated 70,000 patients. Since that time, the campus has been home to the state-owned Booneville Human Development Center.


The tour will begin in front of the Nyberg Building, 87 Reed Road, Booneville, Arkansas, (pictured below) and will last about two hours. Donations will be accepted to benefit Preserve Arkansas and the Sanatorium Museum. Please contact Rachel Patton at [email protected] or 501-372-4757 for additional information.

Recent Posts


Little Rock Central High School Madison County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Elias Camp Morris Marked Tree Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Rosenwald Schools White County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Arkansas religious history Arkansas Business History New Century Club of Camden most endangered historic places Arkansas Design Network historic telephone booth Abolition of Slavery Duck Hunting Pike County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Burdette Plantation Civilian Conservation Corps Renaissance Revival Architecture Wingmead Main Street Searcy Miller County "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Montgomery County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Arkansas History Lesson Plans Perry County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Arkansas Humanities Council Forrest City Cemetery Cumberland Presbyterian Church Tolbert Gill Delta Cultural Center free teacher resources Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Kiblah School Art Deco Architecture Russellville Arkansas Paris Arkansas Camden Public Library Erbie Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Railroad History Buffalo National River Cemetery Preservation Library slipcover removal grants Fayetteville Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Helena Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Henry Koen Office Building Nevada County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Free Lesson Plan historic resort communities Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Louisiana Main Street program National Register of Historic Places Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Clarendon Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Doddridge Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites News Release Saline County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Polk County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Newton County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Camden to Washington Road Mississippi Main Street Association Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Dumas Centennial Baptist Church Sunken Lands Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Skillern House Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Monsanto Chemical Corporation Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown revitalization Arkansas Preservation Awards Destination Downtown Conference downtown economic development Rustic Architecture Burdette Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Roe Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Craftsman style architecture International-Style Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History historic architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Turner Restoration North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Walks Through History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House National Register of Historic Monroe County Arkansas Ozark Farming Bogg Springs Hotel Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Free Courthouse Poster Houston Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Let Freedom Ring 13th Amendment free historic preservation workshop Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants National Historic Landmark Booneville Arkansas Flood Control Benton Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pike County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Barney Elias House American Legion Historic County Courthouses steel window restoration workshop Freedom Park Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Batesville Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Arkansas cemetery preservation Conway County Library Arkansas History Rosston Arkansas Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Alliance County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum African American education Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot cemetery preservsation Prairie County Arkansas free history tours Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic Arkansas properties Ouachita County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Huntsville Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District