Preserve Our Past Art and Essay Invitational Opens

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, January 08, 2018

Fifth-, sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade students throughout Arkansas are invited to participate in the 27th annual “Preserve Our Past” art and essay invitational sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

Students in two categories, one for fifth- and sixth-grade students and one for seventh- and eighth-grade students, can enter an artwork or essay based on a historic Arkansas property that is at least 50 years old, focusing on how those properties reflect Arkansas history or why it is important to preserve the state’s historic places. All entries must be postmarked by April 1, 2018.

First-, second- and third-place winners in each category will receive a trophy and winners in the art division will have their artwork framed, while those awarded honorable mention will receive ribbons. All students who enter will receive a certificate. Winning entries will be displayed at the Historic Arkansas Museum in Little Rock throughout May, which is Arkansas Heritage Month.

For more information or an entry form, write AHPP Art and Essay Invitational, 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call (501) 324-9786, send an e-mail inquiry to [email protected], or download the form at

Please include your name and mailing address on any phone or e-mail messages.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Main Street Dumas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas religious history North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Texarkana County courthouse Restoration Grants Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Booneville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance St. Francis County Historical Society historic architecture free teacher resources Walks Through History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Free Lesson Plan downtown economic development Freedmen's Bureau Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Louisiana Main Street program White County Courthouse Arkansas Business History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Sandwiching in History Arkansas Railroad History Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Miller County Arkansas African American Civil War History Clarendon Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Paris Arkansas Benton Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Wingmead Downtown Revitalization Grants Tudor Revival Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Little Rock Central High School historic resort communities Forrest City Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Bogg Springs Hotel Freedom Park National Historic Landmark Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Duck Hunting Pulaski County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church Poinsett County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Destination Downtown Conference Pope County Arkansas Conway County Library Huntsville Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program 13th Amendment Henry Koen Office Building Houston Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Three States Lumber Company Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Pope County Courthouse historic telephone booth Camden to Washington Road Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Cumberland Presbyterian Church Forrest City Cemetery Dr. Ruth Hawkins Polk County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Flood Control Gothic Revival architecture New Century Club of Camden Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Roe Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Civil Works Administration "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Sunken Lands Arkansas History Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Humanities Council Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Batesville historic Arkansas properties Let Freedom Ring Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House News Release Helena Arkansas Burdette Plantation International-Style Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Historic Preservation slipcover removal grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Pike County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library free historic preservation workshop Turner Restoration Folk Victorian Architecture cemetery preservation U.S. Forest Service Abolition of Slavery 19th Century Road Construction free history tours African American education Madison County Arkansas Camden Public Library downtown revitalization Russellville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons most endangered historic places Fayetteville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Kiblah School Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas History Lesson Plans cemetery preservsation Erbie Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Dionicio Rodriguez Burdette Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Preservation Awards Ouachita County Arkansas Tolbert Gill American Legion National Register of Historic Phillips County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Marked Tree Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Buffalo National River Prairie County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Camden Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Skillern House Monroe County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Ozark Farming Monroe County Arkansas Barney Elias House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Rosenwald Schools Main Street Ozark