​ Preserve our Past Art and Essay Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 02, 2020

Students from Marion, Phillips, Pulaski, Benton, Sharp and Van Buren counties were the top winners in the 29th annual “Preserve Our Past” Art & Essay Invitational, sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of Arkansas Heritage, a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. The winning submissions will be on display at Historic Arkansas Museum, 200 E. Third St., in Little Rock, on Friday, Sept. 11, during its virtual Second Friday Art Night event and will remain on display for visitors to the museum through Oct. 8.

Brooke Bitely of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock won first place in the fifth- and sixth-grade art division for a drawing of the Old Mill in North Little Rock. There were no essay submissions for fifth- and sixth-graders in the essay division.

Brent Wall of South Side Bee Branch won first place in the seventh- and eighth-grade art division for a drawing of the rustic arch at the CCC Camp in Damascus, and Matthias L. Gwinn of Siloam Springs won first place in the essay division for “A Willow Tree: The Elaine Massacre and Preserving Its Story.” Yahya Younus of Lisa Academy in Little Rock won second place in the essay division for “The Diamond State’s Heart: the VA Hospital.”

Other winners in the fifth- and sixth-grade art division were Ria Patel of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock, second place for a drawing of the State Capitol in Little Rock, and Mason Reid Simmons of Cave City MiddleSchool, third place for a drawing of the Old State House in Little Rock. Honorable mention went to Emma Grace Kimball of Pulaski Academy for a drawing of Cabin 16 at Petit Jean State Park.

Other winners in the seventh- and eighth grade art division were Taylor Henley of Flippin Middle School, second place for a drawing of the Flippin Jail, and Kaylea Roberson of South Side Bee Branch, third place for a drawing of the Collums-Baker House. Honorable mention went to Natalie Leslie, South Side Bee Branch, for a drawing of the arch at the CCC Camp in Damascus. The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Main Street Texarkana Monsanto Chemical Corporation Erbie Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Historic Preservation Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Kiblah School Cemetery Preservation Library Sandwiching in History Miller County Elias Camp Morris U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 13th Amendment Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Arkansas slipcover removal grants North Little Rock Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Perry County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Skillern House Roe Arkansas Pope County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation historic architecture Saline County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Design Network Folk Victorian Architecture Pope County Courthouse Rustic Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Wingmead Forrest City Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Conway County Library Central High School Neighborhood Historic District American Legion Morrilton Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Burdette Plantation Little Rock Central High School Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Railroad History Benton Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Turner Restoration historic Arkansas properties Free Lesson Plan Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Business History Freedom Park Rosston Arkansas cemetery preservsation Sunken Lands Monroe County Arkansas downtown revitalization Dr. Ruth Hawkins Let Freedom Ring Main Street Batesville free historic preservation workshop free teacher resources Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mid-Century Modern Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans African American education 19th Century Road Construction New Century Club of Camden Camden to Washington Road St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas History National Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Walks Through History U.S. Forest Service Leake-Ingham Building Civil Works Administration Main Street Ozark Buffalo National River Arkansas State University Heritage Sites steel window restoration workshop Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Helena Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Bogg Springs Hotel Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Trail of Tears in Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Barney Elias House historic telephone booth Main Street Searcy Fayetteville Arkansas News Release Historic Preservation Alliance White County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Historic County Courthouses National Historic Landmark most endangered historic places Polk County Arkansas Flood Control free history tours Dionicio Rodriguez Huntsville Arkansas Duck Hunting Ozark Farming Destination Downtown Conference Clarendon Arkansas Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Restoration Grants International-Style Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Free Courthouse Poster Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Phillips County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Evelyn Gill Walker House Pike County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Forrest City Cemetery Henry Koen Office Building Abolition of Slavery Nevada County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Camden Public Library Pike County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Dumas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Rosenwald Schools Arkansas religious history Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 cemetery preservation National Register of Historic historic resort communities Monroe County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Louisiana Main Street program Delta Cultural Center Paris Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Booneville Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse downtown economic development Arkansas Register of Historic Places