Russellville Commercial Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, November 14, 2017

The building at 310 West Main Street in the Russellville Downtown Historic District at Russellville in Pope County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The building at 310 West Main Street was constructed in 1912.

“In the original nomination for the Russellville Downtown Historic District, the Building at 310 West Main was considered to be non-contributing to the District, due to a slipcover that was installed over the original façade,” according to the National Register nomination. “However, the building should now be considered to be a contributing resource. A recent project, partially funded by a slipcover removal grant from the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program in 2013-2014, removed the slipcover, exposing the original facade. As a result, the building is considered to be a contributing resource in the Russellville Downtown Historic District.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Paris Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Business History International-Style Architecture Booneville Arkansas Main Street Batesville Saline County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Duck Hunting Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Dumas Miller County Walks Through History Pulaski County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot National Register of Historic historic telephone booth slipcover removal grants Arkansas Humanities Council Roe Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Turner Restoration Burdette Arkansas free teacher resources Kiblah School Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Ozark Farming Poinsett County Arkansas Wingmead Rustic Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery downtown economic development Main Street Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center County courthouse Restoration Grants Monroe County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Camden to Washington Road Art Deco Architecture U.S. Forest Service Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Abolition of Slavery Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservation North Little Rock Arkansas historic architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Railroad History Sandwiching in History Downtown Revitalization Grants Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins steel window restoration workshop free history tours Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Prairie County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Central High School Main Street Siloam Springs Newton County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Marked Tree Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Pope County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Tolbert Gill Mississippi Main Street Association Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 13th Amendment Folk Victorian Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola cemetery preservsation Montgomery County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Design Network historic resort communities Tudor Revival Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Clarendon Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Main Street Searcy historic Arkansas properties Elias Camp Morris Free Courthouse Poster Mid-Century Modern Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Morrilton Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Historic Preservation Alliance Cumberland Presbyterian Church downtown revitalization New Century Club of Camden Louisiana Main Street program Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Freedmen's Bureau Conway County Library most endangered historic places free historic preservation workshop Forrest City Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Flood Control Historic County Courthouses Madison County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Free Lesson Plan African American education Destination Downtown Conference 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation White County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Buffalo National River Freedom Park News Release Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Nevada County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards American Legion Phillips County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Huntsville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Gothic Revival architecture Camden Public Library Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Helena Arkansas Barney Elias House Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Hotel Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Burdette Plantation National Historic Landmark Craftsman style architecture Monroe County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas African American Civil War History Doddridge Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Civil Works Administration Sunken Lands Benton Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Edgar Monsanto Queeny Skillern House Russellville Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Perry County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana