Sandwiching in History to Tour Acme Brick Building

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 21, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Acme Brick Building at 301 South Victory Street in Little Rock beginning at noon on Friday, August 4.

The Acme Brick Building was designed by the firm of Ehrhart, Eichenbaum & Rauch and was constructed in 1958. That is the firm that is responsible for buildings such as Beaux-Arts Parnell Hall at Arkansas School for the Deaf (1931), the Art Moderne-style Arkansas State Tuberculosis Sanitarium in Booneville (1938), and the original International-style St. Vincent's Hospital (1958) at the corner of University and Markham in Little Rock. The Acme Brick Building was designed to serve as the showroom for the various products that Acme Brick had to offer. Acme stayed in the building until 1996 when they sold it to the state for offices. Various organizations have been housed in the building since then, most recently the Arkansas Asphalt Pavement Association.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Ouachita County Arkansas Walks Through History Phillips County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas Register of Historic Places African American education Newton County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Cemetery Preservation Library Duck Hunting U.S. Forest Service News Release Gothic Revival architecture Paris Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot White County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Burdette Plantation St. Francis County Historical Society New Century Club of Camden Camden Public Library free history tours Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Arkansas downtown revitalization Clarendon Arkansas most endangered historic places Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Little Rock Central High School Free Lesson Plan Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Railroad History Poinsett County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Pulaski County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Texarkana National Register of Historic Huntsville Commercial Historic District Bogg Springs Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Preservation Awards Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Craftsman style architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Arkansas historic telephone booth Montgomery County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Saline County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools North Little Rock Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Benton Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Flood Control Nevada County Arkansas historic architecture Leake-Ingham Building cemetery preservation Destination Downtown Conference Conway County Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Monroe County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Delta Cultural Center Wingmead Booneville Historical Preservation Society Huntsville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Business History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Tolbert Gill Centennial Baptist Church free teacher resources Morrilton Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Dumas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Turner Restoration Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Sunken Lands Rosston Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture historic Arkansas properties Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Arkansas Design Network Erbie Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants steel window restoration workshop Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Houston Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Miller County Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Searcy Monsanto Chemical Corporation Historic Preservation Alliance Three States Lumber Company Arkansas History Barney Elias House 13th Amendment Pope County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic resort communities Main Street Siloam Springs Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Freedom Park Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Folk Victorian Architecture National Historic Landmark Abolition of Slavery Sandwiching in History Camden to Washington Road Polk County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Humanities Council Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Historic Preservation Russellville Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Ozark Farming National Register of Historic Places International-Style Architecture slipcover removal grants Louisiana Main Street program Art Deco Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny 19th Century Road Construction Buffalo National River Rustic Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Pike County Arkansas Helena Arkansas American Legion Forrest City Cemetery Booneville Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Kiblah School Fayetteville Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Roe Arkansas free historic preservation workshop downtown economic development Historic County Courthouses Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Skillern House Pope County Arkansas