Sandwiching in History to Tour Alternate Location: Second Presbyterian Church

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 14, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Second Presbyterian Church at 600 Pleasant Valley Drive in Little Rock at noon on Friday, March 2.

The March tour was originally scheduled for the Block Realty-Couch House, but the location had to be changed because of unforeseen circumstances.

Founded in 1882, Second Presbyterian Church is the state’s largest Presbyterian congregation. The current building, the congregation’s third, was built in 1968 and dedicated in 1969 and designed by the noted Little Rock firm of Wittenberg, Delony, and Davidson. The building was erected in West Little Rock because of the westward expansion of the city after World War II, and because the congregation’s members were no longer concentrated near downtown. Neil Hamill Park, the state’s first professionally-trained landscape architect, also completed a landscape plan for the campus, although little of the plan was ultimately carried out.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 6, Dr. Charles Kennedy House, 6 Edenwood Lane, North Little Rock; May 4, Lake Nixon, 18500 Cooper Orbit Road, Little Rock; June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall, 615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Ozark Farming 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Fayetteville Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Helena Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark Perry County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building free history tours Monroe County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Flood Control Cumberland Presbyterian Church Duck Hunting Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Railroad History Art Deco Architecture U.S. Forest Service Arkansas History Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House New Century Club of Camden American Legion Historic Preservation Alliance Nevada County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Skillern House Freedom Park Abolition of Slavery Main Street Searcy Houston Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas Business History National Register of Historic White County Courthouse Main Street Dumas Free Lesson Plan Elias Camp Morris 13th Amendment historic architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Little Rock Central High School Main Street Ozark steel window restoration workshop Dionicio Rodriguez "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas religious history Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Prairie County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas most endangered historic places Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Naturalistic Architecture Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax downtown economic development Booneville Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Historic County Courthouses Madison County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Burdette Plantation Montgomery County Courthouse U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Texarkana Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Ouachita County Arkansas free teacher resources Camden Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot cemetery preservsation Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Miller County Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Turner Restoration cemetery preservation Pope County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Freedmen's Bureau Newton County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Conway County Library Roe Arkansas Barney Elias House Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut free historic preservation workshop Rosston Arkansas Tolbert Gill Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Folk Victorian Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association historic resort communities 19th Century Road Construction downtown revitalization International-Style Architecture historic telephone booth Booneville Historical Preservation Society Kiblah School Gothic Revival architecture Huntsville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Monsanto Chemical Corporation Delta Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church Wingmead Bogg Springs Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Craftsman style architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Camden to Washington Road Forrest City Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Sandwiching in History historic Arkansas properties Saline County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Rustic Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas African American education North Little Rock Arkansas Civil Works Administration St. Francis County Historical Society Dr. Ruth Hawkins Sunken Lands Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Register of Historic Places Buffalo National River slipcover removal grants Benton Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Paris Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Walks Through History Free Courthouse Poster Burdette Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Civilian Conservation Corps Destination Downtown Conference Pike County Arkansas News Release Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Historic Preservation Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Batesville Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola