'Sandwiching in History' to tour Lynch Apartments in NLR

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 20, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Lynch Apartments at 523 Orange Street in North Little Rock on April 3, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Located in the Argenta Historic District, the Craftsman-style Lynch Apartments were built in 1926 by Jimmy and Theresa Lynch. The ten-unit apartment building catered to local railroad and mill employees. The Lynch Apartments were recently restored with the help of federal and state historic rehabilitation tax credits. The building again provides ten rental units in the heart of downtown North Little Rock.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Railroad History Edgar Monsanto Queeny Duck Hunting Houston Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Naturalistic Architecture Tolbert Gill Paris Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Humanities Council Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Miller County Sandwiching in History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Renaissance Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants free history tours Civil Works Administration Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Searcy Pike County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Erbie Arkansas Freedom Park Free Courthouse Poster cemetery preservsation Clarendon Arkansas Helena Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Buffalo National River Main Street Texarkana Camden Public Library Marked Tree Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Batesville "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Camden Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission African American education Arkansas Register of Historic Places County courthouse Restoration Grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas religious history Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Turner Restoration Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Pope County Courthouse most endangered historic places Craftsman style architecture National Historic Landmark St. Francis County Historical Society Cumberland Presbyterian Church Burdette Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Evelyn Gill Walker House Pope County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 International-Style Architecture Barney Elias House Arkansas History Lesson Plans Bogg Springs Hotel Historic County Courthouses Mississippi Main Street Association Destination Downtown Conference Huntsville Commercial Historic District Kiblah School historic telephone booth Sunken Lands Leake-Ingham Building Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Monsanto Chemical Corporation 19th Century Road Construction Dionicio Rodriguez Monroe County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Roe Arkansas 13th Amendment Pulaski County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Little Rock Central High School Nevada County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Rustic Architecture Three States Lumber Company Mississippi County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas historic resort communities National Register of Historic U.S. Army Corps of Engineers News Release Montgomery County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Siloam Springs Cemetery Preservation Library Conway County Library Russellville Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Prairie County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Pike County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Skillern House slipcover removal grants Arkansas African American Civil War History Forrest City Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Gothic Revival architecture Rosston Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas History Main Street Dumas Wingmead Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Saline County Arkansas downtown revitalization New Century Club of Camden U.S. Forest Service American Legion Arkansas Business History Delta Cultural Center Benton Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Phillips County Arkansas Ozark Farming Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Newton County Arkansas Main Street Ozark cemetery preservation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Art Deco Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot historic architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Real Estate Transfer Tax Flood Control free teacher resources Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Henry Koen Office Building White County Courthouse Burdette Plantation downtown economic development Perry County Arkansas