'Sandwiching in History' to tour Matthews-Clauson-McCullough House

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, January 23, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s nex “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Matthews-Clauson-McCullough House at 10226 Miller Road in Sherwood on February 6, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

This large, Craftsman-style home was built about 1928 by the Justin Matthews Company in the Pope Place Addition of Sylvan Hills. It features a stone portico, banks of casement windows, and false half-timbering in the gable ends. The house was used as rental property until 1944, when it was purchased by Donald and Evelyn Clauson. The Clauson family sold it in 1950 to Murray and Martha McCullough.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held March 6, Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse, 300 West Second Street, Little Rock; April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Dr. Ruth Hawkins Duck Hunting National Register of Historic Places Main Street Dumas Pike County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Houston Arkansas Skillern House Sandwiching in History Pope County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Rustic Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Prairie County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Searcy 13th Amendment Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Turner Restoration Gothic Revival architecture Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Cemetery Preservation Library Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas most endangered historic places Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Batesville Bogg Springs Hotel Roe Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Paris Arkansas National Historic Landmark downtown revitalization Rosenwald Schools free teacher resources Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Art Deco Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation American Legion Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Nevada County Arkansas Freedom Park Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sunken Lands Tolbert Gill Clarendon Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Louisiana Main Street program Freedmen's Bureau Three States Lumber Company Flood Control Phillips County Arkansas Miller County Craftsman style architecture Main Street Ozark White County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Dionicio Rodriguez Kiblah School Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Saline County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction County courthouse Restoration Grants free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Railroad History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Ouachita County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Doddridge Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Civilian Conservation Corps Fayetteville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Business History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Huntsville Commercial Historic District Booneville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Russellville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan slipcover removal grants Abolition of Slavery Polk County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South downtown economic development steel window restoration workshop Main Street Texarkana Forrest City Cemetery Monroe County Courthouse National Register of Historic Helena Arkansas historic telephone booth cemetery preservation Pike County Courthouse historic resort communities Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Humanities Council Buffalo National River Pulaski County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Burdette Plantation Arkansas History Lesson Plans Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Perry County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops News Release Arkansas Preservation Awards Monroe County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Rosston Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Henry Koen Office Building Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Trail of Tears in Arkansas Walks Through History Wingmead Cumberland Presbyterian Church Little Rock Central High School Conway County Library Erbie Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Camden Arkansas Ozark Farming Free Courthouse Poster African American education Evelyn Gill Walker House free history tours Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic architecture International-Style Architecture U.S. Forest Service Huntsville Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Montgomery County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House Benton Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society cemetery preservsation Camden Public Library Arkansas religious history Mississippi Main Street Association Poinsett County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses