‘Sandwiching in History’ to Tour Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 20, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 300 West Second Street in Little Rock on March 6, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Completed in 1881, this Renaissance Revival-style building served as a post office, federal courthouse, and customs house until 1932. The Old Post Office and Courthouse was declared federal surplus property in 1975. It was later renovated by the State of Arkansas to house the UALR Law School. In the early 1990s, the building was returned to the federal government. It was beautifully restored to accommodate the U.S. Bankruptcy Court. Attendees will have to go through a security checkpoint, which may take extra time so early arrival is recommended.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock. 

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas State University Heritage Sites most endangered historic places Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Texarkana National Register of Historic historic resort communities Civil Works Administration 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Russellville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Historic County Courthouses Rosenwald Schools Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Tolbert Gill Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Craftsman style architecture Destination Downtown Conference Free Lesson Plan Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Pope County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Arkansas History Lesson Plans Wingmead Monroe County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House St. Francis County Historical Society Perry County Arkansas Walks Through History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops free historic preservation workshop Polk County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Duck Hunting cemetery preservsation Camden Public Library Delta Cultural Center Sunken Lands Mississippi Main Street Association Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Ozark Abolition of Slavery African American education Poinsett County Arkansas historic telephone booth Dionicio Rodriguez Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 cemetery preservation International-Style Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Burdette Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House free teacher resources Main Street Siloam Springs Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Monroe County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Barney Elias House Arkansas Humanities Council New Century Club of Camden Doddridge Arkansas Roe Arkansas Sandwiching in History Free Courthouse Poster Ouachita County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Main Street Searcy Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Flood Control Camden Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Courthouse Helena Arkansas downtown revitalization Camden to Washington Road Montgomery County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Business History Benton Arkansas free history tours Newton County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Prairie County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Paris Arkansas Pope County Courthouse American Legion Bogg Springs Hotel Skillern House 13th Amendment Ozark Farming Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Turner Restoration Three States Lumber Company Rustic Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Buffalo National River U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Booneville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture National Register of Historic Places Monsanto Chemical Corporation Henry Koen Office Building Kiblah School historic architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Freedom Park Cemetery Preservation Library Historic Preservation Alliance Little Rock Central High School Arkansas History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins Freedmen's Bureau Real Estate Transfer Tax Madison County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Phillips County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Huntsville Arkansas Conway County Library Main Street Dumas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas religious history Miller County Houston Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Pulaski County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas White County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation slipcover removal grants Burdette Plantation Centennial Baptist Church News Release Main Street Batesville Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Design Network Let Freedom Ring downtown economic development Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Renaissance Revival Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot