'Sandwiching in History' to tour Stowers Office Building

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, April 27, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Dan Stowers Office Building at 1516 West Third Street in Little Rock on May 8, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Little Rock architect Dan F. Stowers, Sr., designed this Mid-century Modern building in 1960 to house his firm. Somewhat unassuming from Third Street, the Stowers Building was oriented to take advantage of the view to the north and provide natural light for the drafting room. Although the majority of the building’s walls are solid masonry, the northern elevation is composed of a glass curtain wall. This provided the perfect amount of indirect light for the drafting room. Panels of screen block on the building’s eastern side shield an exterior staircase and create an interesting detail.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Albert Pike Memorial Temple, 712 Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Ozark Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Little Rock Central High School Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Let Freedom Ring North Little Rock Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Business History Renaissance Revival Architecture Henry Koen Office Building Cumberland Presbyterian Church slipcover removal grants Barney Elias House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas religious history Buffalo National River National Register of Historic Pope County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Miller County Ozark Farming Burdette Plantation Phillips County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Monroe County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Madison County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Forrest City Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Three States Lumber Company Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Newton County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Design Network International-Style Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans cemetery preservation Civilian Conservation Corps Edgar Monsanto Queeny Houston Arkansas Turner Restoration Evelyn Gill Walker House Gothic Revival architecture Helena Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown economic development Historic Preservation Alliance Marked Tree Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council free history tours historic Arkansas properties Civil Works Administration free teacher resources Pulaski County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture Camden to Washington Road Paris Arkansas Kiblah School National Register of Historic Places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Flood Control U.S. Forest Service Naturalistic Architecture Sandwiching in History Mid-Century Modern Architecture Perry County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Nevada County Arkansas Wingmead County courthouse Restoration Grants Louisiana Main Street program Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Dionicio Rodriguez Historic County Courthouses Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Main Street Arkansas Camden Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Walks Through History Tudor Revival Architecture free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Downtown Revitalization Grants Elias Camp Morris steel window restoration workshop Skillern House Arkansas Humanities Council Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola 19th Century Road Construction Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Batesville cemetery preservsation Huntsville Arkansas Benton Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Tolbert Gill most endangered historic places New Century Club of Camden Freedom Park Conway County Library Pope County Courthouse African American education Saline County Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas Preservation Awards Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Texarkana Dr. Ruth Hawkins Russellville Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas downtown revitalization Rosenwald Schools Pike County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture Sunken Lands Arkansas Railroad History White County Courthouse Rustic Architecture American Legion St. Francis County Historical Society Abolition of Slavery Mississippi Main Street Association Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas History Arkansas African American Civil War History News Release Burdette Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pike County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Montgomery County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Forrest City Cemetery Booneville Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places historic telephone booth Main Street Siloam Springs Duck Hunting Morrilton Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Camden Public Library Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Roe Arkansas Main Street Searcy National Historic Landmark