Sandwiching in History to Visit Albert Pike Hotel

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, June 23, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Albert Pike Hotel at 701 Scott Street in Little Rock beginning at noon on Friday, July 7.

The hotel was built in 1929 by the Farrell Hotel Company for about $1,000,000. It was designed by architect Eugene John Stern in the Spanish Revival style. The hotel is named after one of Arkansas's leading historical figures, Albert Pike, a teacher, attorney, newspaperman, Confederate general, and later a judge of the Arkansas Supreme Court. The building was a hotel from its construction in 1928 (opening in 1929) until December 1971, when the Second Baptist Church assumed ownership and began its Albert Pike Residence Hotel ministry. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on November 21, 1978.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Design Network Craftsman style architecture Roe Arkansas National Historic Landmark Henry Koen Office Building steel window restoration workshop Rosenwald Schools Pike County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Sunken Lands free history tours Camden to Washington Road U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Searcy Downtown Revitalization Grants Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Arkansas News Release Huntsville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Ozark Farming Conway County Library Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Arkansas Turner Restoration Monroe County Courthouse County courthouse Restoration Grants historic Arkansas properties Clarendon Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Civilian Conservation Corps Flood Control Wingmead U.S. Forest Service African American education Nevada County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas historic telephone booth Let Freedom Ring Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Russellville Arkansas Paris Arkansas Barney Elias House Camden Public Library Rustic Architecture most endangered historic places Rosston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture free teacher resources Tolbert Gill Buffalo National River Morrilton Arkansas Saline County Arkansas cemetery preservation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Montgomery County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas History St. Francis County Historical Society Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Erbie Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Booneville Historical Preservation Society Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Miller County Newton County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons National Register of Historic Kiblah School Houston Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance downtown economic development Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery New Century Club of Camden Arkansas religious history Phillips County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas African American Civil War History Bogg Springs Hotel Mississippi Main Street Association historic resort communities "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Skillern House Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Railroad History Prairie County Arkansas Camden Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Batesville Fayetteville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans International-Style Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Tudor Revival Architecture Elias Camp Morris Polk County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Leake-Ingham Building Duck Hunting Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum cemetery preservsation Helena Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Destination Downtown Conference Burdette Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Business History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Edgar Monsanto Queeny Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Benton Arkansas slipcover removal grants Sandwiching in History Pope County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company Bogg Springs Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Register of Historic Places Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Historic Preservation Civil Works Administration Little Rock Central High School Walks Through History Pope County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council White County Courthouse Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Dumas Historic County Courthouses downtown revitalization American Legion Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot free historic preservation workshop Forrest City Cemetery Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Forrest City Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Booneville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Freedmen's Bureau Marked Tree Arkansas Freedom Park Burdette Plantation Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Free Courthouse Poster