Sandwiching in History to Visit Argenta Rock Island Depot

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, September 28, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Argenta Rock Island Depot at 1201 East Fourth Street in North Little Rock at noon on Friday, October 5. The Argenta Rock Island Depot is a single-story brick passenger depot constructed in 1913 and designed in the Mediterranean style common to the contemporaneous depots of the Rock Island Railroad Company. It has a simple Latin-cross plan with the telegrapher's bay and corresponding cargo room on the street elevation forming the transept. The building was designed by Rock Island railroad’s staff architect, A.T. Hawk.This design was used in places other than Argenta over a period of a few years: depots matching this design were also built in Lonoke and Mansfield in Arkansas.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Dr. Ruth Hawkins Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas African American Civil War History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South cemetery preservation Montgomery County Courthouse free teacher resources St. Francis County Historical Society Madison County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Trail of Tears in Arkansas New Century Club of Camden cemetery preservsation Renaissance Revival Architecture Conway County Library Arkansas Register of Historic Places Forrest City Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Freedom Park Arkansas Business History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Tolbert Gill Cemetery Preservation Library Camden Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Abolition of Slavery Wingmead Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mid-Century Modern Architecture Rustic Architecture downtown economic development Booneville Historical Preservation Society White County Courthouse Main Street Batesville Monsanto Chemical Corporation Miller County U.S. Forest Service Main Street Dumas Russellville Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Little Rock Central High School Pike County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Gothic Revival architecture downtown revitalization National Historic Landmark Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pope County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Prairie County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses steel window restoration workshop Rosenwald Schools Civil Works Administration Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Historic Preservation Folk Victorian Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Flood Control Roe Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Erbie Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Turner Restoration Poinsett County Arkansas Paris Arkansas African American education Evelyn Gill Walker House International-Style Architecture Sunken Lands Pike County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Centennial Baptist Church Bogg Springs Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery 19th Century Road Construction Naturalistic Architecture Perry County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Clarendon Arkansas Walks Through History historic Arkansas properties Buffalo National River Arkansas Preservation Awards Ouachita County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Delta Cultural Center Freedmen's Bureau Monroe County Courthouse Skillern House most endangered historic places free historic preservation workshop Main Street Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monroe County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Newton County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas free history tours Dionicio Rodriguez Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Siloam Springs Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Marked Tree Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Barney Elias House Burdette Arkansas Camden Public Library 13th Amendment Marked Tree Lock and Siphons historic telephone booth Pope County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Searcy Arkansas Humanities Council historic resort communities American Legion County courthouse Restoration Grants Nevada County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Phillips County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District Ozark Farming Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History historic architecture Montgomery County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Destination Downtown Conference Sandwiching in History Benton Arkansas Houston Arkansas National Register of Historic Arkansas History News Release Bogg Springs Hotel Art Deco Architecture Louisiana Main Street program Henry Koen Office Building Burdette Plantation Saline County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Ozark Arkansas religious history Civilian Conservation Corps Duck Hunting Free Lesson Plan Mississippi County Arkansas Kiblah School Edgar Monsanto Queeny