Sandwiching in History to Visit Jacksonville Museum

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, April 19, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Arkansas Ordnance Plant Guard House at the Jacksonville Museum of Military History at 100 Victory Circle in Jacksonville on Friday, May 5.

On June 4, 1941, the War Department notified Arkansas Governor Homer Adkins and Congressman David D. Terry that a $33,000,000 fuse and detonator plant was approved for immediate construction near Jacksonville. The Arkansas Ordnance Plant was the first national defense industry approved for the state, and at the peak of production on November 22, 1942, 14,092 workers were employed at the plant. In 2002, the Little Rock Air Force Base Historical Foundation, Inc. purchased a building located on the site of the former AOP administration building. That building was converted in 2004 to the Jacksonville Museum of Military History, which includes information and artifacts on military history from the Civil War to current military conflicts. One area is dedicated to the history of the Arkansas Ordnance Plant, which includes the guard shack. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on September 20, 2006.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held June 2, Carmelite Convent and Chapel, 7201 W. 33rd Street, Little Rock; July 7, Albert Pike Hotel, 701 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas History Lesson Plans North Little Rock Arkansas Rustic Architecture free history tours Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Railroad History Doddridge Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Montgomery County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Newton County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Saline County Arkansas slipcover removal grants National Register of Historic Pope County Arkansas American Legion Skillern House Morrilton Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Folk Victorian Architecture Little Rock Central High School Turner Restoration Sandwiching in History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Rosston Arkansas cemetery preservsation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Historic Preservation Alliance Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops African American education Freedom Park Arkansas religious history Free Lesson Plan Camden to Washington Road Edgar Monsanto Queeny Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Siloam Springs 13th Amendment Tolbert Gill Poinsett County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Henry Koen Office Building Erbie Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Texarkana Abolition of Slavery Burdette Plantation Main Street Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic County Courthouses Buffalo National River Kiblah School Houston Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Duck Hunting Evelyn Gill Walker House Forrest City Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Camden Public Library Naturalistic Architecture Wingmead U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Dr. Ruth Hawkins Gothic Revival architecture Monroe County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Ozark Farming Barney Elias House historic resort communities International-Style Architecture Russellville Arkansas Flood Control Roe Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Miller County Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Register of Historic Places White County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church cemetery preservation Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas History downtown revitalization Craftsman style architecture historic architecture National Historic Landmark Burdette Arkansas most endangered historic places Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Madison County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Camden Arkansas Main Street Searcy Cemetery Preservation Library Delta Cultural Center Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Huntsville Commercial Historic District Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Business History Main Street Dumas Forrest City Cemetery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District downtown economic development steel window restoration workshop Destination Downtown Conference Helena Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Three States Lumber Company Huntsville Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission historic telephone booth Monroe County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Perry County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Conway County Library Tudor Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Renaissance Revival Architecture Sunken Lands free historic preservation workshop Main Street Ozark Mississippi County Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas Design Network Paris Arkansas Civil Works Administration Pulaski County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Rosenwald Schools County courthouse Restoration Grants Monsanto Chemical Corporation Pike County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association News Release Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Batesville Mosaic Templars Cultural Center free teacher resources Nevada County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church historic Arkansas properties Benton Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation 19th Century Road Construction