‘Sandwiching in History’ to Visit Little Rock Fire Station

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, January 05, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Sandwiching in History” tour of 2015 will visit Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 at 1201 S. Commerce Street on January 9, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Located in the MacArthur Park Historic District, Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 was built in 1917 and served as a fire station until the late 1950s. The Craftsman-style building was constructed with a mixture of materials. It features exposed rafter tails, false half-timbering, and triangular knee braces under the eaves. The old firehouse is currently being converted into a 30-bed hostel and museum.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held February 6, Matthews-Clauson-McCullough House, 10226 Miller Road, Sherwood; March 6, Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse, 300 West Second Street, Little Rock; April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Newton County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Cemetery Preservation Library Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monroe County Courthouse Barney Elias House Helena Arkansas Miller County Historic County Courthouses historic telephone booth Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Freedom Park "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans Rosston Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Free Courthouse Poster Camden Public Library Historic Preservation Restoration Grants free history tours downtown economic development New Century Club of Camden Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Gothic Revival architecture Roe Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Bogg Springs Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Saline County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Dumas Dionicio Rodriguez Sunken Lands Booneville Historical Preservation Society Civil Works Administration U.S. Forest Service slipcover removal grants African American education Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Little Rock Central High School Arkansas African American Civil War History Delta Cultural Center Pike County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Conway County Library Louisiana Main Street program free teacher resources Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Arkansas Walks Through History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Preservation Awards National Register of Historic Art Deco Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Turner Restoration Rustic Architecture Flood Control Marked Tree Lock and Siphons historic resort communities Erbie Arkansas Pike County Courthouse White County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Naturalistic Architecture Kiblah School Clarendon Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Nevada County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Searcy downtown revitalization Destination Downtown Conference News Release historic Arkansas properties Burdette Plantation historic architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Pope County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Renaissance Revival Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Perry County Arkansas Arkansas History Forrest City Cemetery Madison County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Ozark Farming Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Russellville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Free Lesson Plan 13th Amendment U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Houston Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Montgomery County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Mississippi Main Street Association Montgomery County Courthouse Rosenwald Schools Doddridge Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Main Street Batesville Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Program cemetery preservsation Skillern House Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedmen's Bureau Benton Arkansas steel window restoration workshop most endangered historic places Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Henry Koen Office Building Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Edgar Monsanto Queeny Tolbert Gill Civilian Conservation Corps Duck Hunting Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Business History Forrest City Arkansas Pope County Courthouse International-Style Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Wingmead Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Huntsville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Polk County Arkansas cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas Camden Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction American Legion St. Francis County Historical Society Leake-Ingham Building National Register of Historic Places Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Ozark Tudor Revival Architecture Buffalo National River Main Street Siloam Springs Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Huntsville Commercial Historic District