Sandwiching in History to Visit Markham Street United Methodist Church

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, January 19, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Markham Street United Methodist Church at 9820 West Markham Street in Little Rock at noon on Friday, February 2.

Nestled in among scores of ranch houses sits the former Markham Street United Methodist Church, now Faith United Methodist Church. Designed by the Little Rock firm of Cowling & Roark, the church was constructed in 1966 and sat on the western edge of the city. The church stands as one of the most unique Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired churches in the city. It features design elements taken from Wright’s famous Prairie Style architecture and his little-known American System-built “prefab” designs.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held March 2, Block Realty-Couch House, 8 Armistead Road, Little Rock; April 6, Dr. Charles Kennedy House, 6 Edenwood Lane, North Little Rock; May 4, Lake Nixon, 18500 Cooper Orbit Road, Little Rock; June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall, 615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mid-Century Modern Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Dr. Ruth Hawkins Helena Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Monroe County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Sandwiching in History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Newton County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown economic development Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Flood Control Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Searcy Turner Restoration Montgomery County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Design Network American Legion National Historic Landmark National Register of Historic Folk Victorian Architecture Camden Public Library International-Style Architecture Phillips County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Ouachita County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Rustic Architecture Paris Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservsation Three States Lumber Company free historic preservation workshop Tolbert Gill Free Lesson Plan Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Batesville Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Texarkana cemetery preservation Duck Hunting Historic County Courthouses Buffalo National River U.S. Army Corps of Engineers steel window restoration workshop 13th Amendment historic architecture Art Deco Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Civilian Conservation Corps Dionicio Rodriguez Centennial Baptist Church 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Downtown Revitalization Grants Booneville Arkansas Conway County Library Forrest City Arkansas Freedom Park Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Sunken Lands Wingmead Skillern House Mississippi County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring historic resort communities Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places free history tours free teacher resources Doddridge Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Burdette Plantation Monroe County Courthouse Roe Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Walks Through History Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants U.S. Forest Service "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas African American Civil War History News Release Rosenwald Schools Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Humanities Council Tudor Revival Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Louisiana Main Street program Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Russellville Arkansas Houston Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture New Century Club of Camden Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden to Washington Road National Register of Historic Places Poinsett County Arkansas historic telephone booth Bogg Springs Hotel historic Arkansas properties Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas religious history Elias Camp Morris Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Mississippi Main Street Association Bogg Springs Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Barney Elias House Kiblah School St. Francis County Historical Society Polk County Arkansas Civil Works Administration White County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas most endangered historic places Trail of Tears in Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church African American education Clarendon Arkansas Ozark Farming downtown revitalization Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas History Morrilton Arkansas Pope County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction slipcover removal grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum County courthouse Restoration Grants Miller County Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Little Rock Central High School Main Street Dumas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Historic Preservation Alliance