Sandwiching in History to Visit Maumelle Munitions Bunker

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 18, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4 at 4 Willastein Drive at noon on Friday, June 1.

Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4 was one of 21 bunkers constructed in Maumelle as part of the Maumelle Ordnance Works built between 1941 and 1942. The bunkers were built for production of picric acid and ammonium picrate for use during World War II. In 1945 production of picric acid and ammonium picrate ceased and the plant was slated for decontamination. In subsequent years all but three of the twenty-one bunkers have been destroyed. The bunker was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on May 4, 2006.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Miller County Edgar Monsanto Queeny Historic Preservation Alliance steel window restoration workshop Pope County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Barney Elias House Helena Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Gothic Revival architecture African American education Mid-Century Modern Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Bogg Springs Hotel Ozark Farming Elias Camp Morris Roe Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Conway County Library Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Craftsman style architecture Historic County Courthouses Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Burdette Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Sunken Lands historic resort communities Bogg Springs Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Freedom Park Polk County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Places White County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Monroe County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Burdette Plantation Main Street Searcy Let Freedom Ring Erbie Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites American Legion Art Deco Architecture Main Street Texarkana Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Kiblah School Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Booneville Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Buffalo National River Nevada County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse free history tours Forrest City Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Henry Koen Office Building Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Newton County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Free Courthouse Poster 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Humanities Council downtown revitalization Civil Works Administration North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Pope County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Camden Public Library historic Arkansas properties Pike County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Russellville Arkansas National Register of Historic Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Rosenwald Schools Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Paris Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Walks Through History Delta Cultural Center Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Main Street Batesville historic architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Evelyn Gill Walker House downtown economic development 19th Century Road Construction Turner Restoration Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Business History 13th Amendment Duck Hunting U.S. Forest Service Main Street Dumas Louisiana Main Street program most endangered historic places Arkansas Railroad History Flood Control Fayetteville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps New Century Club of Camden County courthouse Restoration Grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District Booneville Historical Preservation Society Leake-Ingham Building free teacher resources Tolbert Gill Marked Tree Lock and Siphons News Release St. Francis County Historical Society Free Lesson Plan Cumberland Presbyterian Church U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Camden to Washington Road Dr. Ruth Hawkins Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Phillips County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Main Street Ozark Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas religious history Abolition of Slavery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District slipcover removal grants cemetery preservation Main Street Siloam Springs Benton Arkansas Three States Lumber Company National Historic Landmark Dionicio Rodriguez Pike County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Skillern House Sandwiching in History Freedmen's Bureau Downtown Revitalization Grants Monsanto Chemical Corporation Renaissance Revival Architecture Madison County Arkansas Wingmead Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas History