'Sandwiching in History' to Visit Park Hill Complex

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 18, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex at 3417-3421 Magnolia Street in North Little Rock beginning at noon on Friday, September 1.

The Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex consists of a fire station, a water company office, two concrete reservoirs, and two stone pump houses, all built in 1938 with funding support from the Works Progress Administration. The fire station and water company office are distinguished by their fieldstone exteriors and Mediterranean style, including red-tile roofs. They were designed by the Little Rock firm of Brueggeman, Swaim and Allen. Now owned by the City of North Little Rock, this historic complex remains an important landmark in the Park Hill neighborhood. It was added to the National Register on November 19, 1993.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


cemetery preservsation Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program slipcover removal grants Phillips County Arkansas Barney Elias House Huntsville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Sunken Lands Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Sandwiching in History Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Searcy Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Let Freedom Ring Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Lesson Plan Mississippi Main Street Association Rustic Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Bogg Springs Arkansas Saline County Arkansas most endangered historic places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut 13th Amendment Camden to Washington Road Clarendon Arkansas Ozark Farming Arkansas Historic Preservation Freedmen's Bureau Free Courthouse Poster Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Burdette Plantation Pope County Courthouse Rosenwald Schools Main Street Texarkana Downtown Revitalization Grants Benton Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Flood Control downtown revitalization International-Style Architecture Main Street Dumas Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Helena Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Freedom Park Abolition of Slavery Conway County Library Arkansas Preservation Awards Dr. Ruth Hawkins Civilian Conservation Corps Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Duck Hunting National Register of Historic Places County courthouse Restoration Grants Camden Public Library Miller County Cumberland Presbyterian Church Skillern House Naturalistic Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Perry County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Design Network Ouachita County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Railroad History Leake-Ingham Building Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Centennial Baptist Church Rosston Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Siloam Springs Buffalo National River Historic County Courthouses 19th Century Road Construction Monroe County Arkansas African American education Newton County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Walks Through History American Legion Arkansas Register of Historic Places Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Business History historic resort communities Elias Camp Morris White County Courthouse Pike County Courthouse Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Arkansas History Paris Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Huntsville Commercial Historic District Tolbert Gill Booneville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Fayetteville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Three States Lumber Company New Century Club of Camden Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Batesville Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Civil Works Administration Erbie Arkansas Wingmead Delta Cultural Center free teacher resources cemetery preservation Madison County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building free historic preservation workshop 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Gothic Revival architecture National Register of Historic Polk County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Turner Restoration Russellville Arkansas historic architecture National Historic Landmark Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Doddridge Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Arkansas African American Civil War History Roe Arkansas downtown economic development historic telephone booth News Release Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Kiblah School Dionicio Rodriguez Poinsett County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Morrilton Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery St. Francis County Historical Society Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers free history tours