Sandwiching in History to Visit Pulaski County Courthouse

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, October 20, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Pulaski County Courthouse at 401 West Markham Street at Little Rock beginning at noon on Friday, November 3.

The Pulaski County Courthouse incorporates two distinct buildings: a Romanesque Revival completed in 1889 and a Beaux Arts structure completed in 1914. The 1889 building was the first permanent courthouse in the county and was meant to demonstrate Arkansas’s growing prominence. In the 1914 courthouse, twelve statues representing different segments of Arkansas life such as agriculture, machinery, justice, and art stand in the large central hall. The statues, along with cartouches along the balustrade near the roofline, were designed by an Italian sculptor named Giusto Liva and his sons, Paul and John. The Pulaski County Courthouse was added to the National Register on October 18, 1979.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

The final 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held December 1 at Little Rock City Hall at 500 West Markham Street.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Pike County Arkansas Kiblah School downtown economic development Renaissance Revival Architecture Tolbert Gill St. Francis County Historical Society Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 News Release National Register of Historic Places free teacher resources Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedom Park Huntsville Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Humanities Council Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Henry Koen Office Building Forrest City Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance African American education Helena Arkansas most endangered historic places Centennial Baptist Church Folk Victorian Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Destination Downtown Conference Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery White County Courthouse Free Lesson Plan Booneville Historical Preservation Society Skillern House Arkansas Historic Preservation Camden Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Downtown Revitalization Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Abolition of Slavery Russellville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Ozark Farming Main Street Searcy Barney Elias House free historic preservation workshop Arkansas History Lesson Plans Historic County Courthouses National Register of Historic Bogg Springs Hotel cemetery preservsation historic telephone booth Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Rustic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Polk County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Nevada County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Camden to Washington Road Monsanto Chemical Corporation Prairie County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas free history tours Marked Tree Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Gothic Revival architecture steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Monroe County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Arkansas Business History Flood Control slipcover removal grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Erbie Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Three States Lumber Company historic resort communities Arkansas Preservation Awards Burdette Plantation Newton County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Roe Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Houston Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building 13th Amendment Madison County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Turner Restoration Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Siloam Springs Walks Through History Elias Camp Morris Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Saline County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic Arkansas properties Arkansas African American Civil War History Benton Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pope County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program downtown revitalization Perry County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Buffalo National River "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Tudor Revival Architecture Sunken Lands Camden Public Library Rosston Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Miller County Delta Cultural Center Main Street Arkansas American Legion Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Sandwiching in History cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Pope County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Mississippi County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Ouachita County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Civil Works Administration Fayetteville Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas History Wingmead Main Street Texarkana Bogg Springs Arkansas Conway County Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction historic architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Rosenwald Schools Main Street Batesville Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Design Network Paris Arkansas Main Street Ozark