Sandwiching in History to Visit Trapnall Hall

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 19, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Trapnall Hall at 423 East Capitol Avenue in Little Rock on Friday, February 3.

Trapnall Hall was constructed in 1843 in the Greek Revival style of architecture as the home of Frederic and Martha Trapnall. The building went through a succession of owners and uses after passing out of the Trapnall family. To prevent it from being torn down, Mrs. Charles Minor (Julia) Taylor purchased it in 1929 and donated it to the Junior League of Little Rock as a memorial to her late husband. In 1963, the Junior League sponsored a major restoration of Trapnall Hall. After serving for many years as headquarters for the Junior League, in 1976 the league donated half of the appraised value of Trapnall Hall to the state. Today, Trapnall Hall stands as the official receiving hall for Arkansas’s governor, and can be rented by the public for special events. Trapnall Hall was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on April 13, 1973.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held Old Central Fire Station, 506 East Main Street, North Little Rock; April 7, Dibrell House, 1400 Spring Street, Little Rock ; May 5, Arkansas Ordnance Plant Guard House (Jacksonville Museum of Military History), 100 Veterans Circle, Jacksonville; June 2, Carmelite Convent and Chapel, 7201 W. 33rd Street, Little Rock; July 7, Albert Pike Hotel, 701 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Historic Preservation Restoration Grants downtown economic development Pike County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Art Deco Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Burdette Plantation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas African American Civil War History steel window restoration workshop Civil Works Administration Leake-Ingham Building Kiblah School Miller County Montgomery County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Barney Elias House Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Russellville Arkansas most endangered historic places Walks Through History 19th Century Road Construction Camden Public Library New Century Club of Camden Henry Koen Office Building Evelyn Gill Walker House Clarendon Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Design Network Freedmen's Bureau Cemetery Preservation Library cemetery preservsation Roe Arkansas Ozark Farming National Register of Historic Places Paris Arkansas 13th Amendment Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Dumas Arkansas Business History National Register of Historic Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum International-Style Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Helena Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Tolbert Gill Houston Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Searcy free historic preservation workshop News Release Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Humanities Council Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot historic Arkansas properties Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Tudor Revival Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pike County Arkansas Skillern House Erbie Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Sandwiching in History Polk County Arkansas Conway County Library Rosenwald Schools Wingmead free teacher resources Downtown Revitalization Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Rustic Architecture Free Courthouse Poster U.S. Forest Service Real Estate Transfer Tax Duck Hunting Phillips County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Pulaski County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Dionicio Rodriguez Louisiana Main Street program Civilian Conservation Corps Little Rock Central High School downtown revitalization American Legion Freedom Park free history tours Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Dr. Ruth Hawkins Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Railroad History historic architecture Historic County Courthouses historic resort communities Abolition of Slavery Mississippi Main Street Association historic telephone booth Free Lesson Plan Naturalistic Architecture Camden Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas History Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pope County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery slipcover removal grants Montgomery County Arkansas Sunken Lands Flood Control Benton Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Huntsville Commercial Historic District Fayetteville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance African American education Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South cemetery preservation Main Street Ozark Centennial Baptist Church Marked Tree Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Prairie County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Buffalo National River Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Batesville Rosston Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden to Washington Road Perry County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax White County Courthouse St. Francis County Historical Society Pope County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Turner Restoration Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mid-Century Modern Architecture Saline County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Craftsman style architecture