'Sandwiching in History' Tour Postponed Unitl March 13

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 05, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s “Sandwiching in History” tour of the Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 300 West Second Street in Little Rock originally scheduled for March 6 has been postponed until March 13 because of inclement weather, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Completed in 1881, this Renaissance Revival-style building served as a post office, federal courthouse, and customs house until 1932. The Old Post Office and Courthouse was declared federal surplus property in 1975. It was later renovated by the State of Arkansas to house the UALR Law School. In the early 1990s, the building was returned to the federal government. It was beautifully restored to accommodate the U.S. Bankruptcy Court. Attendees will have to go through a security checkpoint, which may take extra time so early arrival is recommended.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Marked Tree Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Roe Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Main Street Dumas Little Rock Central High School Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Phillips County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Evelyn Gill Walker House Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Searcy Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Arkansas Flood Control Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola historic Arkansas properties Huntsville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Register of Historic Places White County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas Railroad History Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Ozark Erbie Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Duck Hunting Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Civil Works Administration Art Deco Architecture U.S. Forest Service Naturalistic Architecture Craftsman style architecture Helena Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Edgar Monsanto Queeny slipcover removal grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Wingmead cemetery preservation Poinsett County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Buffalo National River Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Cumberland Presbyterian Church 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Houston Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society North Little Rock Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps St. Francis County Historical Society Three States Lumber Company Bogg Springs Hotel Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Humanities Council Pulaski County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture News Release Let Freedom Ring Ozark Farming Pope County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Pike County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Batesville free teacher resources historic telephone booth historic architecture 19th Century Road Construction Elias Camp Morris Madison County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas African American education Historic Preservation Restoration Grants free history tours Polk County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Historic Preservation downtown economic development Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Business History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Folk Victorian Architecture Conway County Library Saline County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Rustic Architecture Nevada County Arkansas downtown revitalization Prairie County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Barney Elias House Perry County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Texarkana Tolbert Gill Monroe County Arkansas most endangered historic places Dr. Ruth Hawkins Henry Koen Office Building steel window restoration workshop Ouachita County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Preservation Awards Tudor Revival Architecture Pike County Courthouse Sunken Lands Kiblah School Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Historic County Courthouses National Register of Historic Cemetery Preservation Library Burdette Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Skillern House 13th Amendment New Century Club of Camden Benton Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Centennial Baptist Church Walks Through History Turner Restoration Paris Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Huntsville Commercial Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Camden Public Library International-Style Architecture National Historic Landmark Arkansas African American Civil War History Sandwiching in History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Abolition of Slavery American Legion cemetery preservsation Freedom Park County courthouse Restoration Grants Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas History Clarendon Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center National Register of Historic Places Miller County Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery