‘Sandwiching in History’ Tour Postponed Until March 13

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 05, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s “Sandwiching in History” tour of the Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 300 West Second Street in Little Rock originally scheduled for March 6 has been postponed until March 13 because of inclement weather, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Completed in 1881, this Renaissance Revival-style building served as a post office, federal courthouse, and customs house until 1932. The Old Post Office and Courthouse was declared federal surplus property in 1975. It was later renovated by the State of Arkansas to house the UALR Law School. In the early 1990s, the building was returned to the federal government. It was beautifully restored to accommodate the U.S. Bankruptcy Court. Attendees will have to go through a security checkpoint, which may take extra time so early arrival is recommended.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas History Lesson Plans International-Style Architecture Sandwiching in History Kiblah School Henry Koen Office Building Leake-Ingham Building Saline County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Dr. Ruth Hawkins Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Cemetery Preservation Library Little Rock Central High School Barney Elias House Gothic Revival architecture free teacher resources 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation American Legion Freedom Park Free Courthouse Poster Miller County Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Dumas Main Street Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Paris Arkansas Main Street Batesville Louisiana Main Street program Mississippi Main Street Association Skillern House Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Newton County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Pope County Courthouse U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot free historic preservation workshop North Little Rock Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Buffalo National River slipcover removal grants Abolition of Slavery downtown revitalization Destination Downtown Conference Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Tudor Revival Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Flood Control Tolbert Gill Arkansas Humanities Council Booneville Historical Preservation Society Monroe County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance African American education "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Rosenwald Schools Ozark Farming Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Lesson Plan Walks Through History Arkansas Railroad History U.S. Forest Service Renaissance Revival Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Civilian Conservation Corps historic architecture Delta Cultural Center historic telephone booth National Historic Landmark Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Craftsman style architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Nevada County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pike County Courthouse Roe Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Helena Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Centennial Baptist Church Three States Lumber Company News Release Arkansas religious history Art Deco Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Siloam Springs National Register of Historic White County Courthouse Benton Arkansas Main Street Searcy Morrilton Arkansas cemetery preservsation Main Street Ozark Wingmead most endangered historic places County courthouse Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Sunken Lands Arkansas Design Network Perry County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Camden Public Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny Mississippi County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Conway County Library Burdette Plantation 13th Amendment Elias Camp Morris Clarendon Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Fayetteville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Real Estate Transfer Tax Bogg Springs Hotel New Century Club of Camden Civil Works Administration Montgomery County Arkansas Turner Restoration free history tours Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Texarkana Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Russellville Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Ouachita County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Register of Historic Places Huntsville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Duck Hunting Arkansas Business History historic resort communities Arkansas History cemetery preservation Camden Arkansas downtown economic development Rustic Architecture historic Arkansas properties Poinsett County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas African American Civil War History Evelyn Gill Walker House