Sandwiching in History Tour Set for Old NLR Fire Station

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 17, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Old Central Fire Station at 506 Main Street in North Little Rock on Friday, March 3, AHPP Interim Director Marian Boyd announced today.

The Old Central Fire Station is a two-story brick building, with a three-bay front facade dominated by a large equipment bay on the ground floor, now enclosed by glass doors. The building, whose construction date is not known, was acquired by the city in 1904, shortly after its incorporation, and initially housed city offices, the jail and the fire station. In 1914 the town offices were moved to North Little Rock City Hall, and in 1923 the building's original two equipment bays were replaced by one. The horse stalls were also removed, as the new equipment was powered by gasoline engines. The building served as the city's main fire station until 1961. The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on December 22, 1977, and currently houses the North Little Rock History Commission.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 7, Dibrell House, 1400 Spring Street, Little Rock; May 5, Arkansas Ordnance Plant Guard House (Jacksonville Museum of Military History), 100 Veterans Circle, Jacksonville; June 2, Carmelite Convent and Chapel, 7201 W. 33rd Street, Little Rock; July 7, Albert Pike Hotel, 701 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Central High School Neighborhood Historic District downtown revitalization Little Rock Central High School Camden Arkansas International-Style Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program slipcover removal grants Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Phillips County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Evelyn Gill Walker House Ouachita County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pope County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax National Historic Landmark Camden Public Library steel window restoration workshop Camden to Washington Road Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Cumberland Presbyterian Church Bogg Springs Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Rustic Architecture Main Street Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Business History Flood Control Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Freedom Park Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Civilian Conservation Corps Monsanto Chemical Corporation Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Alliance historic telephone booth Let Freedom Ring Leake-Ingham Building historic architecture Main Street Texarkana Three States Lumber Company Perry County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery free history tours Art Deco Architecture 13th Amendment Arkansas African American Civil War History Gothic Revival architecture Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops free historic preservation workshop Turner Restoration historic resort communities Helena Arkansas Barney Elias House Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society Conway County Library Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Burdette Arkansas Sandwiching in History Dr. Ruth Hawkins downtown economic development Burdette Plantation Montgomery County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Renaissance Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Pope County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Forrest City Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Craftsman style architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Russellville Arkansas American Legion Arkansas Humanities Council Free Courthouse Poster Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Folk Victorian Architecture Saline County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Clarendon Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Huntsville Arkansas Ozark Farming Madison County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Fayetteville Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Walks Through History Prairie County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Sunken Lands 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Siloam Springs Pulaski County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Edgar Monsanto Queeny North Little Rock Arkansas Paris Arkansas National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Civil Works Administration U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas History Main Street Batesville Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Ozark Main Street Dumas Buffalo National River Abolition of Slavery Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot free teacher resources Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Dionicio Rodriguez News Release Naturalistic Architecture Morrilton Arkansas most endangered historic places Duck Hunting Freedmen's Bureau New Century Club of Camden Elias Camp Morris Free Lesson Plan Pike County Arkansas Wingmead Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Poinsett County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Roe Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Skillern House 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation U.S. Forest Service Arkansas State University Heritage Sites National Register of Historic Arkansas Register of Historic Places Kiblah School cemetery preservation Montgomery County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Marked Tree Lock and Siphons "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery African American education Huntsville Commercial Historic District Miller County Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District St. Francis County Historical Society Henry Koen Office Building Newton County Arkansas White County Courthouse