Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit Carmelite Convent

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 19, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Carmelite Convent and Chapel at 7201 West 32nd Street on Friday, June 2.

The Carmelite Monastery of St. Teresa of Jesus is the home of the Discalced Carmelite Nuns of Little Rock, a cloistered community of women in the Roman Catholic Church. The monastery is autonomous but belongs to a worldwide order composed of both men and women. The principal mission of the Carmelites is service of the Church through a life of union with God in prayer. Ground was broken in October 1960 for the current facility at 7201 West 32rd Street, and the sisters moved in the following year. Since that time, the sisters have been given eighteen more acres of land. A small infirmary wing was built in the fall of 1999.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held July 7, Albert Pike Hotel, 701 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Alliance White County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Camden to Washington Road Forrest City Arkansas Burdette Arkansas downtown economic development Arkansas Historic Preservation Phillips County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas cemetery preservation News Release 13th Amendment Arkansas Business History Civilian Conservation Corps Freedmen's Bureau Trail of Tears in Arkansas National Historic Landmark Three States Lumber Company Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Fayetteville Arkansas free teacher resources New Century Club of Camden 19th Century Road Construction Downtown Revitalization Grants Duck Hunting Civil Works Administration Flood Control Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program slipcover removal grants Miller County Camden Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Cemetery Preservation Library Craftsman style architecture Pike County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Rosston Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission International-Style Architecture free history tours Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Walks Through History Ozark Farming African American education Elias Camp Morris cemetery preservsation Folk Victorian Architecture Sandwiching in History North Little Rock Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Ozark Main Street Dumas Kiblah School Paris Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Main Street Searcy Forrest City Cemetery Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Pope County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building National Register of Historic Places Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas African American Civil War History Huntsville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Poinsett County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Wingmead Real Estate Transfer Tax Renaissance Revival Architecture most endangered historic places Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River free historic preservation workshop Pike County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Saline County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Roe Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Abolition of Slavery steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Design Network Arkansas History Lesson Plans Tolbert Gill historic telephone booth American Legion Conway County Library Skillern House Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Booneville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Destination Downtown Conference Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Monroe County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Madison County Arkansas Turner Restoration historic Arkansas properties "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Art Deco Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Nevada County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Huntsville Commercial Historic District Sunken Lands Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic resort communities Edgar Monsanto Queeny National Register of Historic Arkansas History Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Courthouse Houston Arkansas Main Street Batesville U.S. Forest Service Polk County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Henry Koen Office Building Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Perry County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Naturalistic Architecture Russellville Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Freedom Park Marked Tree Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South historic architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Gothic Revival architecture Camden Public Library Burdette Plantation Main Street Texarkana Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Railroad History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Register of Historic Places downtown revitalization Little Rock Central High School Bogg Springs Arkansas Pope County Courthouse