Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit NLR’s Lynch Apartments

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 23, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Lynch Apartments at 523 Orange Street in North Little Rock on April 3, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Located in the Argenta Historic District, the Craftsman-style Lynch Apartments were built in 1926 by Jimmy and Theresa Lynch. The ten-unit apartment building catered to local railroad and mill employees. The Lynch Apartments were recently restored with the help of federal and state historic rehabilitation tax credits. The building again provides ten rental units in the heart of downtown North Little Rock.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Phillips County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas National Register of Historic Mid-Century Modern Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery free teacher resources Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Free Lesson Plan Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Henry Koen Office Building Downtown Revitalization Grants Civil Works Administration Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Preservation Awards U.S. Forest Service Renaissance Revival Architecture Historic County Courthouses downtown revitalization Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South North Little Rock Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Delta Cultural Center Fayetteville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Destination Downtown Conference Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Camden Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Buffalo National River Craftsman style architecture Rosenwald Schools Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Turner Restoration cemetery preservation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Leake-Ingham Building Pulaski County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Register of Historic Places U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Benton Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Dumas free historic preservation workshop Sandwiching in History Gothic Revival architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation slipcover removal grants Main Street Texarkana Barney Elias House Forrest City Arkansas Paris Arkansas Tolbert Gill Nevada County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas History Arkansas Historic Preservation Pike County Arkansas News Release Little Rock Central High School Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Conway County Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Miller County National Historic Landmark Newton County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Rustic Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture historic Arkansas properties Polk County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi Main Street Association most endangered historic places National Register of Historic Places Poinsett County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pike County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas Arkansas religious history Huntsville Commercial Historic District Abolition of Slavery Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Bogg Springs Arkansas historic architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Skillern House Wingmead Freedom Park Saline County Arkansas historic telephone booth Three States Lumber Company Houston Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Searcy historic resort communities Madison County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Burdette Plantation American Legion Doddridge Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Prairie County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas downtown economic development Naturalistic Architecture African American education International-Style Architecture Rosston Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery St. Francis County Historical Society free history tours Duck Hunting County courthouse Restoration Grants Kiblah School Main Street Batesville Monroe County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Roe Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Louisiana Main Street program Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pope County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Art Deco Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Civilian Conservation Corps Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance Montgomery County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Cemetery Preservation Library Sunken Lands Bogg Springs Hotel Walks Through History Huntsville Arkansas Camden Public Library Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Ozark Farming cemetery preservsation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut 13th Amendment Arkansas Business History Flood Control Montgomery County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Main Street Ozark White County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Humanities Council