Save America's Treasures Grants Available

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, January 09, 2018

The National Park Service in partnership with the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Humanities is now accepting applications for $5 million in matching grants to support the preservation of nationally significant historic properties and collections through the Save America’s Treasures program. The Save America’s Treasures program was established by in 1998. In 2014, the American Architectural Foundation (AAF) became the official nonprofit partner of the Save America’s Treasures program.


The program requires applicants to raise project funds from other sources to “match” the grant money, which is awarded after a competitive review of project proposals. Grantees must provide dollar-for-dollar match, meaning for each federal dollar put towards the project, at least one non-federal dollar must also be used. Buildings and collections which have previously received Saving America’s Treasures grants are not eligible to receive a second grant for the same building or collection.


Save America’s Treasures has assisted more than 300 National Historic Landmarks (NHL), 28 properties contributing to NHL historic districts, over 250 buildings individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places, over 70 properties contributing to National Register historic districts, as well as hundreds of nationally-significant collections in museums across the country.


The Save America’s Treasures program is funded using revenue from Outer Continental Shelf oil releases, not tax dollars. The program began in 1999 and has leveraged over $315 million in federal appropriations to attract $377 million in private investment to help communities preserve nationally significant properties and collections across the country, creating more than 16,000 jobs along the way.


Eligible projects include the conservation of collections and physical preservation work to historic buildings. All projects must be nationally significant; meaning listed as National Historic Landmarks or at the national level of significance in the National Register of Historic Places, or a case made for a collection’s national significance.


The deadline for applications is February 21, 2018 (11:59 p.m., EST). More information, including grant application materials, is available on the grant program website at

Recent Posts


Historic County Courthouses Marked Tree Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Ozark Farming Pope County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Rustic Architecture International-Style Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Gothic Revival architecture Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas Erbie Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Sunken Lands Kiblah School St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Preservation Awards Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Elias Camp Morris Roe Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas cemetery preservation Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Bogg Springs Arkansas free historic preservation workshop historic resort communities historic Arkansas properties Huntsville Arkansas steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Huntsville Commercial Historic District Delta Cultural Center Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Houston Arkansas News Release Leake-Ingham Building Tolbert Gill Real Estate Transfer Tax Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Searcy Centennial Baptist Church Abolition of Slavery Flood Control North Little Rock Arkansas Rosston Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Design Network Ouachita County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture historic architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Skillern House Poinsett County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Civilian Conservation Corps Folk Victorian Architecture American Legion Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Russellville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Edgar Monsanto Queeny Benton Arkansas Paris Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Batesville Morrilton Arkansas Camden Public Library Downtown Revitalization Grants Wingmead Main Street Texarkana Newton County Arkansas Turner Restoration Mid-Century Modern Architecture Conway County Library Polk County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Evelyn Gill Walker House Mississippi Main Street Association Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House New Century Club of Camden Freedom Park Art Deco Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Walks Through History Freedmen's Bureau Cumberland Presbyterian Church U.S. Forest Service Clarendon Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Doddridge Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Humanities Council Prairie County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Louisiana Main Street program Dr. Ruth Hawkins Buffalo National River Arkansas Business History Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas religious history County courthouse Restoration Grants Free Lesson Plan Dionicio Rodriguez Monroe County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Trail of Tears in Arkansas White County Courthouse Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi County Arkansas Camden Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Arkansas cemetery preservsation Pike County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans African American education downtown economic development Arkansas Register of Historic Places free teacher resources Civil Works Administration Montgomery County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South most endangered historic places 19th Century Road Construction Camden to Washington Road Fayetteville Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Burdette Plantation Miller County Three States Lumber Company 13th Amendment Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Historic Preservation 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Helena Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas History Tudor Revival Architecture free history tours Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Sandwiching in History Main Street Ozark National Register of Historic Barney Elias House Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History historic telephone booth Renaissance Revival Architecture Forrest City Cemetery