State Review Board to Meet

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 09, 2020


Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announces a public meeting of the State Review Board at 10 a.m. April 1, 2020 at Arkansas Heritage at 1100 North Street, Little Rock. The meeting will focus on properties being proposed for the National Register of Historic Places as well as delisting several properties.  

Properties proposed for delisting include:

Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, located with a Certified Local Government (CLG), Little Rock (Pulaski County)

Highway 79 Bridge, Clarendon (Monroe County)

Maxie Theatre, Trumann (Poinsett County)

A property may be delisted when a structure is physically moved or destroyed, such as the case of the removal of the Highway 79 Bridge. An owner may wish to do non-historical renovations to the exterior of the building and change the building’s character, which may prompt a delisting.

The board will address a proposed move of the Latimore Tourist Home, located with a CLG, in Russellville (Pope County). In order for the property to remain listed, the physical move of the structure must be approved by the National Park Service, which oversees the National Register.

Properties being proposed for National Register of Historic Places listings include:

Boy Scouts of America Building, located with a CLG, Little Rock (Pulaski County)

International Harvester Servicenter, located with a CLG, Benton (Saline County)

Prescott & Northwestern Railroad Caboose #3, Prescott (Nevada County)

Snowball Gymnasium, Snowball (Searcy County)

Frank and Eva Barnes “Granny” Henderson Farm, Compton vicinity (Newton County)

Flowers Cabin, Compton vicinity (Newton County)

Galatia Church, Norfork (Baxter County)

Mashburn House, located with a CLG, Fayetteville (Washington County)

Fair Park Golf Course, located with a CLG, Little Rock, Pulaski County

Hindman Hall, Prairie Grove (Washington County)

Elm Springs Cemetery, Historic Section, Elm Springs (Washington County)

Shaw-Blair House, Lowell (Benton County)

The State Review Board is made up of Chair Dr. Ann Early and Vice Chair Bob Kempkes along with Dr. Rodney Harris, Carl Miller Jr., Kelsey Bardwell and Rachel Golden. Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Secretary Stacy Hurst serves as the state’s historic preservation officer.

Being included on the National Register of Historic Places is an honor and provides locations with eligibility to apply for certain grants and tax credit programs. For more information on the National Register of Historic Places, including the qualifications needed submit a nomination, visit

For more information about the National Register, please contact Ralph Wilcox, National Register and survey coordinator, at 501-324-9880.

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is an agency of Arkansas Heritage. AHPP is responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. 


Recent Posts


Main Street Dumas Montgomery County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties Paris Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Sunken Lands Main Street Siloam Springs North Little Rock Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Prairie County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Craftsman style architecture historic resort communities Freedmen's Bureau Three States Lumber Company Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Clarendon Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Huntsville Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery steel window restoration workshop Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Hotel "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Burdette Plantation Arkansas Business History Elias Camp Morris Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas History Lesson Plans American Legion Free Courthouse Poster Historic County Courthouses Louisiana Main Street program National Register of Historic Folk Victorian Architecture Roe Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum cemetery preservation Arkansas Preservation Awards Fayetteville Arkansas White County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps Doddridge Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Gothic Revival architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Abolition of Slavery Walks Through History International-Style Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Turner Restoration Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House most endangered historic places Main Street Searcy Art Deco Architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Let Freedom Ring Poinsett County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Rosston Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Historic Preservation Alliance Polk County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Kiblah School Main Street Batesville Downtown Revitalization Grants Tudor Revival Architecture downtown economic development U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mississippi County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Freedom Park Huntsville Commercial Historic District Henry Koen Office Building Pulaski County Courthouse Miller County Cemetery Preservation Library Delta Cultural Center National Historic Landmark Free Lesson Plan Ozark Farming St. Francis County Historical Society free historic preservation workshop Arkansas History African American education 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation slipcover removal grants Arkansas Railroad History Monroe County Arkansas Barney Elias House New Century Club of Camden Naturalistic Architecture Civil Works Administration Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Forrest City Arkansas Flood Control County courthouse Restoration Grants Buffalo National River Camden Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Tolbert Gill Booneville Historical Preservation Society News Release Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Camden to Washington Road Conway County Library Wingmead free teacher resources Renaissance Revival Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Dr. Ruth Hawkins Erbie Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Perry County Arkansas Skillern House Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Sandwiching in History Main Street Ozark Duck Hunting Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Marked Tree Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas free history tours Phillips County Arkansas downtown revitalization Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic architecture Burdette Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mississippi Main Street Association Saline County Arkansas cemetery preservsation 13th Amendment Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Texarkana historic telephone booth Houston Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Public Library Evelyn Gill Walker House Benton Arkansas Helena Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Madison County Arkansas