Student Film Contest Deadline April 1

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 06, 2019

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is pleased to partner with the Arkansas Educational Television Network once again for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize. This contest is open to all Arkansas students grades 5 to 12 and is conducted in collaboration with the AETN Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase. 

Films should be between five and 15 minutes in length and showcase a historic property more than 50 years old. Properties do not have to be listed on the National Register of Historic Places, but should fall under the categories of an archeological site, historic building or structure with historic significance.

Complete rules and entry form can be found here!

Works will be showcased during a screening at Ron Robinson Theater in May and will be considered for inclusion in the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival in October. Cash prizes are given to winners. Schools can apply to receive a travel grant of up to $150 to bring students to the showcase in May.

Recent Posts


Walks Through History Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Texarkana Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District National Historic Landmark downtown economic development Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Saline County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Clarendon Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 cemetery preservation historic architecture Rosston Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Lesson Plan Pope County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Ouachita County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Buffalo National River U.S. Forest Service Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Civil Works Administration Renaissance Revival Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Siloam Springs Freedom Park Duck Hunting Free Courthouse Poster Forrest City Cemetery Benton Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Dumas free history tours Main Street Ozark Booneville Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Kiblah School Bogg Springs Hotel Sandwiching in History Evelyn Gill Walker House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Ozark Farming historic telephone booth Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Louisiana Main Street program Henry Koen Office Building 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Tolbert Gill Arkansas African American Civil War History Montgomery County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Monroe County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Historic County Courthouses Turner Restoration Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Elias Camp Morris Pike County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Huntsville Arkansas Rosenwald Schools White County Courthouse News Release Historic Preservation Alliance Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Paris Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Burdette Plantation historic Arkansas properties Flood Control free teacher resources American Legion Houston Arkansas downtown revitalization Rustic Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Register of Historic Places Let Freedom Ring 19th Century Road Construction Newton County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas National Register of Historic Places International-Style Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Searcy New Century Club of Camden Little Rock Central High School Burdette Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Dr. Ruth Hawkins "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Helena Arkansas cemetery preservsation Abolition of Slavery Three States Lumber Company Monroe County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas History Arkansas Preservation Awards Pike County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Doddridge Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Business History most endangered historic places Edgar Monsanto Queeny slipcover removal grants historic resort communities Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Art Deco Architecture Nevada County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Batesville Arkansas Design Network 13th Amendment Mississippi County Arkansas Conway County Library Craftsman style architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Wingmead Poinsett County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Tudor Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Camden Public Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Roe Arkansas Skillern House Barney Elias House African American education Mississippi Main Street Association Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Miller County Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Sunken Lands